Veterinary Teaching Hospital Library

The Veterinary Teaching Hospital (VTH) Library, a branch of the Colorado State University Libraries, was established in 1979 through a generous donation by the Harry E. Kingman family.

The collection is designed to serve the faculty, staff, and students at the VTH and emphasizes clinical, medical, and veterinary literature to support the hospital’s teaching and research missions.

The collection at the VTH Library includes approximately 5,000 print books and journals, 115 electronic journals, and over 1,500 electronic books. Physical items (books, journals, DVDs) can be requested from Morgan Library (on main campus) and Book Storage (on Lake St.) to be delivered to VTH Library for pick-up.

CSU Libraries offers access to over 30,000 electronic journals and over 250 databases, including CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE (PubMed), and Web of Science.

CSU Libraries have extensive archival and historical items, including photographs and materials from the history of the VTH.

The University Historic Photograph Collection showcases the Colorado State University’s history from the 1880s to 2000.

This collection documents nearly every aspect of campus life, including the illustrious veterinary medicine program. The collection includes many photographs from the veterinary school’s early days, in addition to a variety of photographs of animals that pay homage to the university’s agricultural roots.

Click on the side navigation arrows below to scroll through selected photographs, search the entire collection, or browse all veterinary medicine photographs.