Veterinary Teaching Hospital Library
Overview
Members of the public may access CSU's resources and databases from the public access computers located in the VTH Library, but cannot access these resources off-campus. Please see resource pages for Pet Owners, Food Production & Livestock Managers, and Alumni & Practicing Veterinarians for recommended resources that are publicly available and free of charge.
Colorado residents with a public library card can speak with their public librarian about using Prospector to request items from CSU and other Colorado institutions.
In alignment with CSU's land grant mission, the VTH Library does provide resources (some restrictions apply for materials not available at CSU) to public patrons, alumni, and practicing veterinarians. Please contact the library with your request for more information.
Free Veterinary and Animal Health Resources
CSU EIDs will deactivate approximately thirty (30) days after leaving CSU. While the public access computers at the VTH Library offer access to databases and other electronic resources on campus, accessing resources away from campus can be a challenge. Here are some resources geared towards practicing veterinarians that are available free of charge.
Options to borrow books include acquiring a community borrowing card (Colorado residents only) at Morgan Library, requesting a book through Prospector (Colorado regional alliance) with your public library card (participating libraries only), or requesting an item through your public library's interlibrary loan options (speak to your public librarian).
Unpaywall and Google Scholar are great options for searching for open access content or looking for an open copy of an article.
Open Access Journals
Below are journals that are either completely open-access or that offer open-access content (some articles are available for free, others require a subscription).
- BioMed Central Veterinary Research (BMC Veterinary Research)Open access, peer-reviewed journal
Coverage: 2005-present - Canadian Journal of Veterinary ResearchOpen access, peer reviewed journal
Coverage: 1937- 6 months ago
Some articles may not be open access at the publisher's discretion. - Case Reports in Veterinary MedicineOpen Access, Peer-Reviewed
- International Journal of Applied Research in Veterinary MedicineOpen access content, peer-reviewed journal
Coverage: 2003-present - Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery Open ReportsOpen access, peer-reviewed journal
Coverage: 2014-present - Journal of the South African Veterinary AssociationOpen access, peer-reviewed journal
Coverage: 1997-present - Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine (JVIM)Open access, peer-reviewed journal
Coverage: 2014-2018 - Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary ResearchOpen access, peer-reviewed journal
Coverage: 2003-present - Veterinary Evidence (RCVS)Open access, peer reviewed
Coverage: 2016-present
Brought to you by RCVS Knowledge - Veterinary Record OpenOpen Access Articles from Veterinary Record, Peer Reviewed
Websites & Databases
- AVMA Animal Health Studies Database (AAHSD)The AVMA's database of animal health studies that is searchable by diagnosis, keyword, specialty, and species.
- Best Bets for VetsAn evidence review service from the University of Nottingham to support evidence-based decision making. Search for a topic or browse by species.
- Clinician's BriefAlso Veterinary Team Brief
- ConsultantA diagnostic support tool created by Cornell University that allows veterinarians to search by diagnosis or signs/symptoms.
- DVM360News and educational resources for veterinary professionals.
- VetGRAM (FARAD)Search FARAD's Veterinarian's Guide to Residue Avoidance Management (VetGRAM).
- FDA Approved Animal Drug Products (Green Book)Also known as "The Green Book," this resource is now exclusively available online and is updated monthly.
- Feline Health Center (Cornell)Cornell's Feline Health Center includes information on feline-specific health topics, Cat Health News, client education materials, and more.
- International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS)Free registration required to access news and information for veterinary professionals.
- Invasive Species CompendiumCoverage: Varies
An encyclopedic resource of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide. It comprised of datasheets, edited by an independent scientific organization, peer-reviewed, and data from specialist organizations, images, maps, and a bibliographic database of abstracts and full-text articles. New datasheets and data sets continue to be added, and new scientific literature is included on a weekly basis.
- Merck Veterinary Manual (Public Access)Online version of the Merck Veterinary Manual, also available as a mobile app.
- Merck Veterinary Manual: Reference GuidesHandy quick reference guides for normal heart/respiratory rates, reference ranges, and more from the Merck Veterinary Manual.
- Opioid Basics (CDC)Resources about opioids and information relating to the opioid epidemic from the CDC.
- PubMed (Public Access)Search biomedical and veterinary literature for free using PubMed. Some articles are freely available through PubMed Central (PMC) or open-access journals.
- TOXNETTOXNET® (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. NOTE: TOXNET is not linked to the library link resolver for finding full-text in the library, but it has valuable resources besides journal articles. And most journals it has indexed will also be in PubMed or Web of Science.
- VetFolioSubscription plans to this resource center, including CE content, podcasts, proceedings, and educational materials, vary, including student (free through AAHA), recent graduate (free through AAHA), and individual ($300/year).
- VetSRevA database of veterinary systematic reviews from the Centre for Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine and University of Nottingham.
Free guides, handouts, and other resources
- Wildlife Decision Tree (AVMA)AVMA's Wildlife Decision Tree to help clinics decide what to do when a wild animal is brought into the clinic
- Wildlife Resources (AVMA)Compilation of resources from the AVMA relating to wildlife and veterinary practice.
Websites
- Colorado Wildfire InformationIncludes information on preparing and recovering from wildfires for livestock owners and horse owners, in addition to wildfire maps and general resources.
- The Beef SiteThe Beef Site features news, analysis, and knowledge summaries for beef and dairy cattle breeds. This site is sponsored by MSD Animal Health.
- Best Management Practices (Colorado Dept. of Agriculture)The Colorado Department of Agriculture maintains a webpage with links to recommended management, welfare, and quality assurance practices for livestock producers, including beef, dairy, and egg.
- Livestock Emergency Preparedness (Colorado Dept. of Agriculture)Manuals and plans for emergency preparedness and disaster response by livestock type.
- Livestock Health (Colorado Dept. of Agriculture)Information and forms for livestock health and reportable diseases.
- Livestock WelfareLivestock Welfare features research and resources for livestock animal care, including emergency response resources.
- Merck Veterinary Manual (Public Access)Online version of the Merck Veterinary Manual, also available as a mobile app.
- OMAFRA Livestock IndexOntario's Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) aggregates articles and links for every aspect of managing livestock and includes information on dairy, beef, sheep, swine, poultry, and horses.
- Pub Ag (Public Access)PubAg is a research database of publications produced by the United State Department of Agriculture (USDA) National Agricultural Library. It includes publications, data sets, and digital collections relevant to agriculture and food production.
Organizations
The Veterinary Teaching Hospital (VTH) at CSU provides 24/7 emergency and critical care services.
The hospital is located at 300 West Drake Road, Fort Collins, CO 80523.
Call the VTH at 970-297-5000 for assistance with an emergency or to schedule an appointment.
Web Resources
- Caring for Your HorseInformation, quick tips, and answers to FAQs about caring for your horse from veterinarians and staff at CSU's VTH.
- Caring for Your Small Animal (includes Exotics)Information and answers to FAQs relating to common small animal care and conditions from the veterinarians and staff at CSU's VTH.
- Healthy Pets Healthy PeopleInformation about zoonoses (diseases that spread between animals and people) from the Center for Disease Control (CDC).
- Merck Manual for Pet HealthTopical and medical information for pet owners from the Merck Veterinary Manual. These topics are easily searchable or can be browsed by species.
- Pet Care (ASPCA)General tips and articles for pet owners from the ASPCA.
- Pet Care (AVMA)Articles and guides for pet owners about training, preventive care, vaccinations, and common diseases from the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).
- Pet Health TopicsInformation about common pet problems, diseases, and topics from Washington State University.
- Preparing for a DisasterInformation about including your animals in your disaster preparation plans.
- Warm Weather Pet SafetyInformation on preventing heat stroke and other heat-related conditions from the AVMA.
Books
The following titles are widely available, including at your local public library. Some titles are available at CSU and may be checked out by patrons with a community borrower's card.
Canine nutrition: what every owner, breeder, and trainer should know by LJ Ackerman.
Hound health handbook: the definitive guide to keeping your dog happy, healthy, and active by B Brevitz.
The cat: it's behavior, nutrition, and health by LP Case
The dog: it's behavior, nutrition and health by LP Case
Pets living with cancer: A pet owner's resource by R Downing
Kindred spirit, kindred care: making health decisions on behalf of our animal companions by SF Nakaya
The complete home veterinary guide by CC Pinney
Loving and losing a pet: a psychologist and a veterinarian share their wisdom by M Stern and S Cropper
Librarian
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
