Research Guides: VM603 Fall 2022: Find Credible Sources

Find Credible Sources

Scholarly Literature
- Review articles summarize literature published on a topic
Trade sources, such as DVM360, Clinician's Brief, VetGirl, ViN, etc.
- Professional publications that are not peer-reviewed
- Check author credentials for expertise and authority
- Check for evidence to support claims
- Check for disputes amongst professional peers about claims (go "upstream" to the scholarly literature and other professional sources to see what others are saying about the author, claim, companies mentioned in the article, etc.)
- Be aware of product endorsements and advertising/sponsorships
Professional organizations (AVMA, etc.)
- Guidelines
- Best practices
- Official statements
Search
- Databases
- Google, targeting specific sites or site types (e.g. feline diabetes site:AVMA.org or feline diabetes site:.edu)
Evaluate sources for credibility (see Credible v. Suspect for more information)
Cite using JAVMA citation format (see page 8)
- If using a journal article, be sure to look up the journal abbreviation by searching the National Library of Medicine (NLM) catalog and using the NLM abbreviation

CAB Abstracts Complete (1910 to present) This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage:1910 to present
Multi-database search of CAB Abstracts and CAB Abstracts Archive. Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition.
Web of Science
Coverage: Varies
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Email Me

Contact:

Morgan Library
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019

(970) 491-1860

Subjects: Zoology

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.