Research Guides: VM603 Fall 2022: Find Empirical Studies

Find Empirical Studies

From a peer-reviewed journal
- Check if a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed using Ulrich's database
Search databases for studies using keywords for your topic
- Use the PICO format to brainstorm keywords
- If there is a lot of literature on your topic, add in keywords related to study types ("randomised," "randomized," "cohort," etc.)
Cite using JAVMA citation format (see page 8)
- Find journal abbreviations by searching the National Library of Medicine (NLM) catalog and using the NLM abbreviation

Notes

Review articles are not considered empirical articles for this assignment
Conference proceedings, working papers, dissertations, etc. are not peer-reviewed

BIOSIS Citation Index
Coverage: 1926-present
Subject coverage includes traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology.
Related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology are also covered.
CAB Abstracts Complete (1910 to present) This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage:1910 to present
Multi-database search of CAB Abstracts and CAB Abstracts Archive. Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
Coverage: 1950 to present
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts for clinical medical literature.
Web of Science
Coverage: Varies
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Zoological Record
Coverage: 1864-present
Coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Provides a collection of references from serial publications, books, meetings, reviews, and other non-serial literature. An online thesaurus of controlled terms arranged in hierarchies makes it easy to locate appropriate search terms. Scope notes and related term references are also provided.

Librarian

Michelle Wilde

she/her(s)

Email Me

Contact:

Morgan Library
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019

(970) 491-1860

Subjects: Zoology

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.