How to Evaluate Books

To evaluate a book look for:

• Purpose: Why was the book written? To:
  • inform?
    • For example: sequence of historical events, results of lengthy study or experiment
  • persuade?
    • For example: to change point of view, outlook, beliefs, or behavior
  • entertain?
    • For example: most fiction, humor, gossip
  • teach how to do something?
    • For example: resumes, cover letters, business plans, needlework, woodwork
  • give an overview?
    • For example: textbooks, encyclopedias
       
• Publisher: Who published the book
  • A university press?
  • Commercial publisher?
  • Professional or Trade Association, Institution, or Research Center?
  • Government (US, state, local)?
  • Vanity (self-published)?
  University theses and dissertations are considered published by the university that granted the degree to the student who wrote it.
   
• Organization and Content: Examine the table of contents and/or headings to determine if the book is organized in a logical and understandable manner. Do the contents indicate that the book contains the information you need? Is there added material such as appendices?
   
• Date of Publication: Some topics, such as those in the health sciences, require current information. Other subjects, such as geology, value older material as well as current. Know the time needs of your topic and examine the timeliness of the book; is it:

  • up-to-date,
  • out-of-date, or
  • timeless?
     
• Authority/author: Is the author an expert in this field? Where is the author employed? What else has he/she written? Has he/she won awards or honors?
   
• Bibliography: Scholarly works always contain a bibliography of the resources that were consulted. The references in this list should be in sufficient quantity and be appropriate for the content. Look for:

  • if a bibliography exists,
  • if the bibliography is short or long,
  • if the bibliography is selective or comprehensive,
  • if the references are primary sources (ex. journal articles) or only secondary sources (ex. encyclopedias),
  • if the references are contemporary to the book or much older, and
  • if the citation style is clear and consistent.
     
• Usefulness: Is the book relevant to the current research project? A well-researched, well-written, etc. book is not going to be helpful if it does not address the topic at hand. Ask, "is this book useful to me"? If it is useful, does it:

  • support an argument
  • refute an argument
  • give examples (survey results, primary research findings, case studies, incidents)
  • provide "wrong" information that can be challenged or disagreed with productively
     
• Coverage: Does the book cover the topic comprehensively, partially or is it an overview?
   
• Audience: For what type of reader is the author writing? Is the level of the book appropriate for your needs? Is the book for:

  • general readers,
  • students (high school, college, graduate),
  • specialists or professionals,
  • researchers or scholars?
     
• Illustrations: Are charts, graphs, maps, photographs, etc. used to illustrate concepts? Are the illustrations relevant? Are they clear and professional-looking?
   
• Context: Information is contextual. Who, what, when, where, why, and how will impact whether or not a resource is useful to you.

Para evaluar libros considere lo siguiente:

• El propósito: ¿Por qué se escribió el libro?
  • ¿Para informar sobre?
    • Por ejemplo: la secuencia de un evento histórico, los resultados de un largo estudio o experimento
  • ¿Para persuadir?
    • Por ejemplo: para cambiar un punto de vista, la manera en que algo se ve, las creencias sobre algo o el comportamiento
  • ¿Para entretener?
    • Por ejemplo: la ficción, el humor o el chisme
  • ¿Para enseñar a como hacer algo?
    • Por ejemplo: un resumé, una carta de encabezamiento, un plan para un negocio, como tejer o trabajos de carpintería
  • ¿Para ofrecer una vista general?
    • Por ejemplo: de libros o enciclopedias
       
• La casa editora: ¿Quién publica el libro?
  • ¿Una casa publicadora de Universidad en particular (University Press)?
  • ¿Una casa publicadora commercial?
  • ¿Una asociación professional o de negocios, una institución o centro de investigación?
  • ¿El gobierno (Federal, estatal o municipal)?
  • ¿Usted mimo/a?

Se considera que las tesis y disertaciones sean publicadas por la universidad que otorgó el título al estudiante que la escribió

• La organización y el contenido: Examine la tabla de contenido y/o los titulares para determinar si el libro está organizado de manera clara y coherente. ¿Indica el contenido del libro la información que usted necesita? ¿Hay material adicional como por ejemplo apéndices?
   
• La fecha de publicación: Algunos temas como los de la salud requieren información al día. Para otros temas como la geología, ustede debe de valorar tanto la información del pasado como la del corriente. Es importante saber en que fechas está escrita la información para el uso que usted necesita darle en su tema. Por eso, considere si el libro está:
  • al día
  • obsoleto o
  • sin tiempo definido
     
• La autoridad /el/la autor/a: ¿Es el/la autor/a un/a experto/a en el campo? ¿Dónde está el/la autor/a empleado/a/? ¿Qué más ha escrito? ¿Ha ganado algún premio?
   
• La bibliografía: Los trabajos académicos siempre contienen una bibliografía de las fuentes consultadas. Las referencias son cantidad suficinete y apropiadas al contenido. Considere:
  • si existe una bibliografía
  • si la bibliografía es corta o larga
  • si la bibliografía es selective y completa
  • si las referencias son fuentes primarias (ej. artículos de periódicos) o Fuentes secundarias (ej. enciclopedias)
  • si la información es contemporánea al libro o parece muy obsoleta
  • si el estilo de citación es claro y consistente
     
• Validez: ¿Es importante el libro para su proyecto de investigación en proceso? Un libro bien escrito y con investigación propia no lo va a ayudar a menos que este discuta su tema directamente. Pregúntese si el libro es útil para usted? Si es útil, debe de contener lo siguiente:
  • apoya un argumento
  • rechaza un argumento
  • ofrece ejemplos (resultados de encuestas, resultados de investigación primaria, estudios de casos, incidents)
  • provee información "errónea" que puede ser desafiada o con la cual se pueden establecer desacuerdos de manera productive
     
• La cubertura: ¿Cubre el libro el tema completamente, parcialmente o generlamente?
   
• La audiencia: ¿Para qué tipo de lector escribe el/la autor/a? ¿es el nivel del libro apropiado para sus necesidades? ¿A quién se dirige el libro?
  • A lectores en general
  • A estudiantes (de escuela superior, universidad o de posgrado)
  • A especialistas o profesionales
  • A investigadores o investigadores académicos
     
• Ilustraciones: ¿ Presenta el libro diagramas, gráficas, mapas, fotografías,etc. para ilustrar conceptos? ¿son estas ilustraciones relevantes? ¿Están presentadas de manera clara y professional?

Traducido por Maria Langley

Pour évaluer un livre, notez:

L'intention: Pourquoi a-t-on écrit ce livre?

Pour informer?

        Par exemple, une séquence d'événements historiques, le résultat de longues études ou d'expériences

Pour persuader?

        Par exemple, pour changer votre point de vue, vos idées, vos croyances ou votre conduite.

          Pour divertir?

        Par exemple les fictions, l'humour, les potins.

          Pour enseigner?

        Les curriculum-vitae, les demandes d'emploi, les conseils commerciaux, la broderie, l'ébénisterie.

          Pour donner une vue d'ensemble:

        Par exemple, les livres de classe, les encyclopédies.

L'éditeur: qui a publié ce livre?

• Les Presses Universitaires?
• Un éditeur commercial?
• Une association professionnelle, une institution, ou un centre de recherches?
• Le Gouvernement (Fédéral ou d'état).
• L'auteur lui-même ( par vanité)?

  On considère que les thèses et dissertations sont publiées par l'université qui octroie un diplôme aux étudiants qui les ont écrites.

L'organisation et le contenu. Examinez la table des matières et/ou les en-têtes pour voir si le livre est organisé d'une manière logique et intelligible. La table des matières contient-elle le renseignement que vous cherchez? Y trouve-t-on des renseignements complémentaires comme des annexes?

La date de publication. les domaines comme les sciences médicales doivent contenir des informations récentes. D'autres, comme la géologie peuvent bénéficier d'informations anciennes aussi bien que récentes. Renseignez vous sur l'époque de votre sujet et jugez si le livre y correspond. Est-il:

• A jour
• Dépassé ou
• Intemporel?

L'auteur. Est-il une autorité dans son domaine de compétence? Pour qui travaille-t-il? Qu'a-t il écrit d'autre/ A-t-il gagné des prix ou des honneurs?

La bibliographie. Les ouvrages académiques comprennent toujours une bibliographie des ressources consultées. Les références devraient être suffisantes et appropriées au contenu. Notez:

• S'il existe une bibliographie
• Si cette bibliographie est courte ou longue
• Si la bibliographie est sélective et complète
• Si les références sont les sources principales (Ex. Articles de journaux) ou seulement accessoires (ex. Encyclopédies)
• Si les références sont contemporaines du livre ou plus anciennes, et
• Si le style des citations est clair et cohérent.

L'utilité. Le livre est-il relatif au sujet de recherche en question? Même un livre bien documenté et bien écrit ne vous sera d'aucune aide s'il ne concerne pas votre recherche. Demandez-vous: si ce livre vous sera utile. Si oui,

• Soutient-il une argumentation?
• La réfute-t-il?
• Donnez des exemples (résultat d'enquêtes, résultats initiaux de recherches, études de cas, incidents)
• Citez des renseignement inexacts que l'on peut réfuter avec succès.

La couverture. Le livre traite-t-il le sujet complètement, en partie, ou n'est-il qu'une vue d'ensemble?

L'audience. Pour quel type de lecteur l'auteur écrit-il? Le niveau du livre est-il approprié à vos besoins? Le livre est-il destiné à:

• L'ensemble des lecteurs?
• Les étudiants? (lycées, collèges, universités)
• Les spécialistes ou les professionnels?
• Les chercheurs ou les universitaires?

Les illustrations. Utilise-t-on des diagrammes, des graphiques, des photographies, etc.… pour illustrer un concept? Ces illustrations sont-elles appropriées? Sont elles claires et d'apparence professionnelle?

Traduit par Michele Nelson

For more details and examples see detailed "How to Evaluate Books."
"To evaluate a book look for:

Purpose: Why was the book written? To:

• inform?
• persuade?
• entertain? 
• teach how to do something?
• give an overview?

Publisher: Who published the book: