How to Do Library Research

This set of pages has information on how to do library research. In all cases, once you have located sources, be sure to evaluate them, using the evaluation guides.

Preferred Terms in Indexes

Sciences In science indexes, the preferred subject term for a plant or animal is usually the scientific classification (Genus and species) .  There are reference books with these terms (which often are in Latin), but you might also try your search in English (or whatever language is easiest for you) and see if there are any items on your topic.  If there are, look in the subject field for the term or terms used in the database and do another search with the preferred term. Plant example In AGRICOLA, a search for carnations finds among the 719 results the following article:

Title: Pre-storage low relative humidity treatment for the reduction of fungal populations on the perianth surface of cut carnations.
Author: Fujiwara, K.; Watanabe, K.; Iimoto, M.
Source: Acta horticulturae, 2006 Jan., no. 699, p. 197-203.

When you look in the DE (Descriptors) field, you see the following:

         relative humidity; postharvest systems; fungi; Dianthus caryophyllus; cut flowers

A new search for "dianthus caryophyllus" identifies 1477 records.  If you plan on narrowing your search to something specific, such as "fungi," you will get better results with dianthus caryophyllus than with carnations.  In this instance, with dianthus caryophyllus you find 32 records instead of 5--more than six times the number of items.  The differences may not always be this dramatic, but it is always a good idea to do your search with the preferred term.

Search Results  (Nov. 13, 2006)
carnations 719
dianthus caryophyllus 1477
carnations and fungi 5
dianthus caryophyllus and fungi 32

[Note: carnation (no "s") finds 2185 records, but when it is combined with fungi only finds 11 records. Relevancy will remain much higher using the Latin term.]

Animal example When doing research on conservation of the gray wolf, it is better to search for "Canis lupus."  A search in Biological Abstracts  locates:

Biological Abstracts 1969- Nov. 13, 2006
gray wolf 242
gray wol* 244
Canis lupus 1120
conservation 194,197
(gray wolf or gray wol*) and conservation 122
Canis lupus and conservation 429

This example also shows how the preferred term can make a difference in the number of items identified.

Summary

These are just a few examples showing the importance of using preferred subject headings.  However, not every database has subject indexing.  For example, ArticleFirst has keyword searching only so if the title of an article, author, publisher, or source does not use the words you type for your search, you will not find that item.  Most indexes do use subject terms.

Utiliser des termes exacts dans les index

Sciences

En sciences, "le terme exact" (subject term) pour une plante ou un animal est habituellement la classification scientifique (genre et espèce). Il y a des livres de références qui contiennent ces termes (le plus souvent en Latin), mais vous pouvez également essayer de chercher en Anglais ( ou dans la langue qui vous est la plus familière), et voir si il y a quelque chose sur votre sujet. Si oui, cherchez le ou les termes utilisés dans la base de données de cette spécialité, et refaites votre recherche en utilisant le terme exact..

Exemple avec les plantes

Dans Agricola, une recherche pour avoine trouve parmi 123 résultats, l'article suivant:

TI:  A mixed model analysis of 10 years of oat evaluation data: use of agronomic information
to explain genotype by environment interaction.
AU:  Frensham, AB; Barr, AR; Cullis, BR; Pelham, SD
SO:  Euphytica : Netherlands journal of plant breeding. 1998. v. 99 (1) p. 43-56

 

Quand vous regardez dans le domaine (champs) DE (descripteur), vous voyez ceci:

 avena sativa; genotypes; genotype environment interaction; agronomic characteristics;
 crop yield; traits; geographical variation; plant height; dwarf cultivars; maturation
 period; barley yellow dwarf luteovirus; rust diseases; leaves

En recherchant Avena, on trouve 195 articles. Si vous voulez restreindre votre recherche à quelque chose de spécifique comme " récolte" vous obtiendrez de meilleurs résultats avec Avena qu'avec "Avoine." Dans notre exemple, on trouve 57 articles au lieu de 18- plus de trois fois le nombre d'entrées. La différences n'est pas toujours aussi flagrante, mais il est préférable de commencer par le terme exact.

Search Results  (21 July 1999)
oat 123
avena 195
oat and crop yield 18
avena and crop yield 57

 

Exemple avec les animaux

Si vous faites des recherches sur le Loup Gris [gray wolf], il est préférable de chercher "Canis lupus."  Une recherche dans Biological Abstracts localise:

Biological Abstracts (1991-1996) 1997 1998
gray wolf 31 17 16
gray wolves 32 6 11
Canis lupus 200 60 44
conservation 38419 8319 5044
(gray wolf or gray wolves) and conservation 21 5 6
Canis lupus and conservation 61 12 11

Cette exemple montre qu'utiliser le terme exact peut influencer le nombre d'articles identifiés.

Littérature

En littérature, si vous cherchez une critique sur le MLA bibliography, il est préférable d'utiliser le titre du livre dans sa langue originale. Ainsi, vous chercherez Cien anos de soledad au lieu de Cent ans de Solitude.

Search MLA 1963-1980 MLA 1981-May 1999
One Hundred Years of Solitude 15 75
Cien años de soledad 95 298

 

Alors que cet exemple prouve qu'un index préfère la langue d'origine pour faire de la recherche sur les romans, rappelez-vous que chaque index possède ses propres termes. Par exemple, on peut trouver beaucoup plus d'articles sur Cien anos de soledad dans Humanities Abstracts en utilisant le titre en Anglais, One Hundred Years of Solitude, qu'avec le titre original du livre en Espagnol.

Sommaire

Il y a quelques exemples qui soulignent l'importance d'utiliser des titres exacts. Cependant, les bases de données n'ont pas toutes des index sur les sujets. Par exemple, UnCover n'autorise la recherche par mot clé que si le titre d'un article (ou, dans certains cas le sommaire) n'utilise pas les mots que vous tapez pour commencer votre recherche, vous ne trouverez pas ce titre. La plupart des index utilisent des termes de sujet.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/howtodo | Print Page