How to Do Library Research

This set of pages has information on how to do library research. In all cases, once you have located sources, be sure to evaluate them, using the evaluation guides.

How to Evaluate a Movie, Video or Film Clip

How to Evaluate a Movie, Video or Film Clip

To evaluate a movie, video, or film clip (or something from television [TV]) and determine if you want to use it for your research look for:

  • Purpose: Why was the movie, video, or film clip (e.g. found on YouTube, Hulu, or news site/TV station) created? To:
    • Inform
      For example: how to do something (fix a drain, repair a computer, learn how to use a computer program). Give an overview of a recent event or issue.
    • Entertain
      For example: good old-fashioned motion pictures (usually at least 60 minutes long; most at least 90 minutes long), TV shows (comedy/drama), music videos, celebrities (e.g. interviewed, doing bits), stories, pratfalls, jokes, etc.
    • Share information
      For example: hobbies (knitting, cooking, gardening; some step-by-step), fandom (sightings of celebrities), familial news (new baby waving or smiling).
    • Advertise/sell a product or service (business/marketing)
      For example: almost any product or service imaginable from automobiles to zumba DVDs, dog sitting to private jet services. Promotions of upcoming shows (theatrical, film, TV) or events.
    • Influence views, beliefs, elections (advocacy)
      For example: candidate PR material, films on topical issues (education, environment, poverty, health, etc.)
    • Personal enjoyment
      For example: pages created by people who wish to promote themselves and/or their interests/hobbies. These may have some or many of the above mentioned purposes. Some of these are aimed at a small audience of friends and/or family members. Others are viewed worldwide, some unexpectedly so.
       
  • Sponsor/Owner of Movie, Video, or Film Clips Found on the Web (Provenance):
    • Government agency: federal, state, city, county (address frequently includes .gov)
      Governmental sites have "official" information such as presidential, gubernatorial, mayoral speeches and statements, agency employee output, laws, ordinances, proposed changes, and policies.
    • Educational: university, college, high school (address frequently includes .edu)
      Educational sites give "official" representation for organizations that offer education. Film clips could include presidents' messages, news releases, etc. Movies may be university sponsored. Recent sports events may also be featured. Instructional materials may be featured on department and/or library Web sites.
    • Business/company (address frequently includes .com)
      Film clips promote the company's goods and services--directly or indirectly. Company outreach, volunteerism of employees, and donations to worthy causes may be emphasized. Presentations from shareholder meetings may exist.
    • Association: professional, trade, entertainment (address frequently includes .org)
      Film clips will be designed to recruit new members and provide information to current members and the general public.
    • News bureau: television, newspaper, radio (address frequently includes .com)
      Videos will be actual news reports (some originally aired on TV, others born on the Web; also more lengthy interviews or detailed news stories than can be aired on TV). Film clips will promote upcoming newscasts or stories. Some of the stories may be of a documentary nature.
    • Personal (individual)
      These videos are created for the enjoyment of the creator and his/her family and friends. They might also be aimed at potential employers. Some of the creators of these (even public officials) do not judiciously take into account that videos designed for personal entertainment may be viewed negatively by potential or current employers or the public. (This applies to still photographs as well.) Some of these are created on hand-held devices such as small cameras, Webcams, or cell phones.
       
  • Sponsor/Owner of Motion Pictures, Documentaries, or TV Shows (Provenance) (May or may not be found on the Web):
    • Major studio (e.g. MGM, 20th Century Fox, etc.)
    • Independent studio
    • Major network: ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS
    • Personal equipment/shared studio
  • Content: Is the movie, video, or film clip organized and focused on a topic or story? What is the goal of the video*? Is there a central theme? Is there a narrative structure? Does it make linear sense? (Some items may be designed to be deliberately obtuse, but others are flat out badly made.) If it is a news report or documentary, who is interviewed? What questions are asked? Is the interviewee given adequate time to respond in the finished piece? Do phrases appear as if they might have been taken out of context? It is a "gotcha" interview or a sincere attempt to discover something informative or productive? Are any stereotypes (positive or negative) reinforced or challenged?
  • Coverage: Does the movie, video, or film clip cover the topic comprehensively, partially or is it an overview? Is it one of a series? Are additional videos* on the same topic planned?
     
  • Audio/visual Is the movie, video, or film clip well designed? Is the lighting adequate? Does the frame include what it needs to include and avoids excess? Does the frame jump a lot making it difficult to see? Is it blurry or have other drawbacks? Are the visual aspects clear in intent, relevant, and professional looking? Is the audio understandable? Is there a lot of background noise that makes it difficult to hear? Are the extras relevant? Are the props germane and appropriate? Is the staging of high quality (e.g. background not distracting, good contrast between foreground and background)? Are there captions (are they needed)?
     
  • Long-Term Availability: Is the movie, video, or film clip something that will still be available to be viewed later? In scholarly research it is essential that resources used to support something be available by others later--even decades or centuries later.
    • Is the video on a stable platform and is it likely to be available years from now to future viewers/researchers? This should not be a problem for widely-distributed major studio films (available on VCR tape or DVD), but it can and already has been a problem with many other videos.
    • Is it likely that the video will be removed from the Web site? (Did someone break copyright to put it up and will therefore be legally required to remove it?) Is the music group going to remove the video from a previous hit and replace it with a video of their current single? Is the news feed going to be changed as soon as the next big story hits?
    • Is the film clip so controversial that it will be pulled very soon because of a public outcry?
    • Is it a promotional piece with a targeted timeline that makes it likely to be removed? (E.g. upcoming city council, PTA, or other type of meeting, upcoming concert, show in a theater, or "happening.")
    • Is it something that someone will likely remove in the future because he/she is running for office/appointed head of a company/gets married/changes his/her mind and does not want youthful/middle-aged or previous activities and/or statements available?
       
  • Bias--political or issue stance (of the author or sponsor): Some movie, video, or film clips have an inherent bias that will impact everything that appears in them. Is the creator:
    • left/liberal?
    • right/conservative?
    • center?
    • an industry-sponsored think tank?
    • a political action (PAC) group or association?
    • a business?
    • a satirist (so the entire thing may be intended as a joke)? (E.g. The OnionColbert Report)
       
  • Date of Production/Revision: When was the movie, video, or film clip created? Is it an update? (Older movies, videos, and film clips can and do remain relevant and useful.)
     
  • Usefulness: Is the movie, video, or film clip relevant to the current research project? A well-researched, well-presented video is not going to be helpful if it does not address the topic at hand. Ask, "is this useful to me?" If it is useful, does it:
    • support an argument
    • refute an argument
    • provide examples (case studies, incidents, real-life situations impacted by something or someone)
    • provide "wrong" information that can be challenged or disagreed with productively
  • Authority/author Who is responsible for the movie, video, or film clip? Are all creators identified (writer, director, producer, editor, etc.)? Is the writer an expert in this field? What else has he/she written? Does the director have previous experience? Does the video have an identifiable, respectable creator? If not, the video must be used with caution in a research context. (If it is strictly for the viewer's entertainment, creator credibility does not matter. However, if some kind of action or behavior is encouraged, it matters a great deal.) News film clips: is it from a national or local news station? Local citizen or visitor with a camera?
  • Audience: To what type of viewer is the movie, video, or film clip directed? Is the level appropriate for your needs? Are the video's intended viewers:
    • general viewers,
    • students (elementary, high school, college, graduate),
    • specialists or professionals,
    • researchers or scholars?
       
  • Context: Information is contextual. Who, what, when, where, why, and how will impact whether or not a resource is useful to you.

*"video" on this page includes movies, film clips, television shows, and Web-only news or films. Or any other moving digital object of any kind.

See Films/Movies for information on finding and doing research on them.

Note: I do not select the films for the Libraries' collection. Thank you.

See also Evaluating Books, Evaluating Journals, Evaluating Web Pages.

 (español)

Cómo evaluar una película, un video, o un segmento de película

Para evaluar y determinar si quiere usar en su investigación una película, un video, o un segmento de película (o algo de la televisión [TV]) considere lo siguiente:

  • El propósito: ¿Por qué se creó la película, video o segmento (por ejemplo encontrado en YouTube, Hulu, página de noticias/canal de TV)? Para:

    < >Informar:
    Por ejemplo: cómo reparar (arreglar) algo (reparar o aprender a usar una computadora, reparar un desagüe). Dar un repaso general de un asunto o evento reciente.Entretener: 
    Por ejemplo: películas cinematográficas (al menos de 60 minutos; la mayoría son de 90 minutos), programas de TV (comedia/drama), videos musicales, celebridades (por ejemplo haciendo entrevistas, sketches), cuentos, metida de patas, chistes, etc.Compartir información: 
    Por ejemplo: hobbies (tejer, cocinar, jardinería, de instrucción paso a paso, mundo de los fanáticos (avistamientos de celebridades), noticias familiares (recién nacido sonriendo o saludando).Avisos publicitarios/ventas de un productos o servicios (negocios/marketing): 
    Por ejemplo: casi cualquier producto o servicio imaginable desde automóviles hasta DVDs de Zumba.Influir puntos de vista, creencias, elecciones (apoyo): 
    Por ejemplo: propagandas de candidatos políticos, películas con temas actuales (educación, medio ambiente, pobreza, salud, etc.)Entretenimiento personal:
    Por ejemplo: páginas creadas para promover interés o hobbies personales. Estas páginas podrían tener algunos o muchos de los propósitos mencionados anteriormente. Las páginas son creadas para distintos públicos, algunas para familiares o amigos, y otras que son vistas mundialmente.Auspiciador /dueño de una película, un video, o un clip de película. (procedencia):< >Agencia gubernamental: Federal, estatal, ciudad, condado (direcciones incluyen frecuentemente .gov):
    Sitios gubernamentales contienen información “oficial” como por ejemplo información presidencial, gubernativa, discursos y declaraciones de alcaldía, rendimiento de empleados de agencias, leyes, ordenanzas, cambios propuestos, y políticas.Educativos: universidad, colegio, escuela secundaria (direcciones incluyen frecuentemente .edu)
    Sitios educativos dan representación “oficial” a organizaciones que ofrecen educación. Clips de películas pueden incluir mensajes de los presidentes, boletines informativos, etc. Las películas pueden ser auspiciadas por las universidades. También podrán encontrar eventos deportivos recientes. Materiales educativos podrán aparecer en las páginas de los distintos departamentos y/o la página del a biblioteca.Negocios/empresas (direcciones incluyen frecuentemente.com)
    Segmentos de película que promueven los productos de las empresas directa o indirectamente. Ayuda comunitaria, trabajo voluntario, o donaciones a causas justas pueden ser enfatizadas. Presentaciones a asambleas de accionistas.Asociación: profesional, comercio, entretenimiento ( direcciones incluyen frecuentemente .org)
    Los videos se diseñaran para reclutar nuevos socios y para proveer información a socios actuales y al público en general.Oficina de noticias: televisión, diarios, radio (direcciones incluyen frecuentemente .com)
    Los videos muestran noticias (algunas originales como salieron al aire, otras nacidas en la Web, también reportajes más extensos o historias detalladas de noticias que pueden ser transmitidas en la televisión). Los segmentos promoverían los próximos noticieros o historias, alguna de las cuales podrían ser de naturaleza documental.Personal (individual)
    Estos videos son creados para la recreación del autor, sus familiares y amigos. También podrían ser empleados como potenciales pedidos de trabajo. Algunos de los creadores de estos videos (incluidos oficiales públicos) no tienen en cuenta que los videos para entretenimientos personal pueden ser vistos negativamente por sus actuales o potenciales empleadores o el público en general. (Esto se aplica también a la fotografía). Algunos de estos son creados por dispositivos manuales como pequeñas cámaras, Webcams, o teléfonos celulares.
     
  • Auspiciante o Patrocinador/Dueño de películas, documentales, o TV Shows (procedencia) (Pueden o no estar en la Web):
    • Grandes estudios (MGM, 20th Century Fox, etc.)
    • Estudios independientes
    • Grandes cadenas: ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, PBS
    • Equipos personales / estudios compartidos
  • Contenido: ¿Es la película, video, o segmento de película organizado o enfocado en un tópico o historia? ¿Cuál es el fin del video? ¿Hay un tema central? ¿Tiene una estructura narrativa? ¿Tiene sentido lineal? (Algunos ítems pueden estar diseñados para ser deliberadamente obtusos pero otros están de plano mal hecho). ¿Si es un reportaje o un documental quien es el entrevistado? ¿Qué preguntas le son hechas? ¿Le da el entrevistador el tiempo adecuado para responder? ¿Hay frases que parecen como si fueran tomadas fuera de contexto? ¿Es un “gotcha” reportaje o un intento sincero de descubrir algo informativo o productivo? ¿Hay estereotipos (positivos o negativos) que desafíen o refuercen?
  • Cobertura: ¿La película, video, o cinta de cine cubre el tema de forma exhaustiva, parcial o es una visión general? ¿Es parte de una serie? ¿Hay videos* adicionales del mismo tema planeados?
  • Sonido/Visual : ¿Está la película, video o segmento de película bien diseñada? ¿La iluminación es adecuada? ¿La estructura incluye lo que se necesita y evita excesos? ¿Acaso la estructura salta demasiado que es difícil de ver? ¿Está borroso o tiene alguna desventaja? ¿Son los aspectos visuales claros con propósito, relevantes, y de apariencia profesional? ¿Es comprensible el audio (sonido)? ¿Hay mucho sonido de fondo que sea difícil de escuchar? ¿Son relevantes los extras (son los actores suplementarios necesarios?) ¿Son los accesorios relevantes y apropiados? ¿Es el escenario de alta calidad (es decir, el fondo desvía la atención, buen contraste entre el plano de frente y el fondo)? ¿Hay titulares (son necesarios)?
  • Disponibilidad a largo plazo : ¿Es la película, video, o segmento de película cine algo que se pueda ver después? En investigación escolástica es esencial que los recursos usados para sostener algo sean disponibles para otros más adelante- incluso décadas o siglos después.
    • ¿Está el video en una plataforma segura y probablemente disponible en años futuros y disponibles a telespectadores/investigadores? Esto no debe de ser un problema para para cintas ampliamente distribuidas (disponibles en video casete o video en disco compacto), pero puede y ha sido un problema para otros videos.
    • ¿Es posible que el video sea eliminado de la página Web? (¿Alguien rompió los derechos de publicación y reproducción que por consecuente sea requerido legalmente a quitarlo?) ¿Va a quitar el grupo musical el video de un previo éxito y reemplazarlo con el video de su reciente sencillo? ¿Tan pronto como la siguiente gran historia llegue, se cambiara la el informe de noticia?
    • ¿Es segmento de película tan controversial que será retirada muy pronto por una protesta pública?
    • ¿Es una pieza promocional de corto tiempo cuyo objetivo es probable que se elimine? (por ejemplo; próximas juntas de los concejales de la ciudad, asociación de padres de maestros y familia, alguna junta, un concierto próximo, obra de teatro, o cualquier acontecimiento.)
    • ¿Es algo que probablemente alguien pueda quitar en el futuro porque él o ella es candidato/a para un puesto de oficina, jefe de una compañía, se casa, cambia su punto de vista y no quiere ninguna actividad de juventud u otras actividades y declaraciones disponibles?
  • Prejuicio— política o posición (del autor o patrocinador): Algunas películas, videos, o segmentos de película tienen una parcialidad inherente que impactan todo lo que aparece en ellos. Es el creador:
    • ¿izquierdista/liberal/?
    • ¿derecha/conservador?
    • ¿centro?
    • ¿un puesto de opiniones de una industria?
    • ¿un grupo de acción política o asociación?
    • ¿un negocio?
    • ¿un escritor satírico (es decir que todo puede ser interpretado como una broma)? (Por decir: “The Onion”, “Colbert Report”)
       
  • Fecha de producción/revisión : ¿Cuando fue que se creó la película, video, o segmento de película? (Películas, videos, y segmentos de películas pasadas pueden y permanecen relevantes y útiles.)
     
  • Utilidad : ¿Es la película, video, segmento de película relevantes al proyecto investigativo presente? Un video bien investigado y presentado no será útil si no trata el tema presente. Pregunta, “¿es útil para mí?” Si es útil, acaso:
    • ¿apoya el argumento?
    • ¿rebate un argumento?
    • ¿provee ejemplos (estudios, incidentes, situaciones de la vida diaria impactada por algo o alguien)?
    • ¿provee “falsa” información que puede ser argumentada o en desacuerdo productivo?
  • Autoridad/ autor: ¿Quién es responsable por la película, video, o segmento de película? ¿Están todos los creadores identificados (escritor, director, productor, editor, etc.)? ¿Es el escritor experto en la materia? ¿Qué más ha escrito? ¿Tiene previa experiencia el productor? ¿Es el video de un creador respetable e identificable? Si no, el video debe ser utilizado con precaución en un contexto investigativo. (Si es estrictamente para el entretenimiento del telespectador la credibilidad del creador no importa. Sin embargo, si alguna acción o comportamiento es fomentado, es de gran importancia.) Notas informativas: ¿Es de una estación de radio local o nacional? ¿Un ciudadano local o un visitante con cámara?
  • Audiencia : ¿A qué tipo de telespectador es la película, video, o cinta de cine dirigida? ¿Es el nivel apropiado para tus necesidades? ¿Son los telespectadores deseados:
    • ¿telespectadores generales?,
    • ¿Estudiantes (primaria, secundaria, preparatoria, colegio, graduado)?,
    • ¿Especialistas o profesionales?,
    • ¿Investigadores o becarios?

* ”video” en esta página incluye películas, segmentos de películas, programas de televisión, y cintas de noticias que son accesibles solo en páginas web ya sea noticias o películas. O cualquier otro objeto digital movible de cualquier clase.

Vea "Films/Movies" (Cintas/Películas) para información de dónde encontrar y hacer investigación de ellas.

Nota—yo no he seleccionado las cintas para la colección de las bibliotecas. Gracias.

Traducido por Nicanor Diaz y Viviana Casilla.
Con colaboración de Rita Puig.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/howtodo | Print Page