How to Do Library Research

This set of pages has information on how to do library research. In all cases, once you have located sources, be sure to evaluate them, using the evaluation guides.

Fields

When doing library research, the term "field" comes up from time to time.  A field, in this context, is a part of a record, usually a bibliographical record, for a book or article.

Major searchable bibliographic fields for books are:
  • author
  • title
  • publisher 
  • date
Major searchable bibliographic fields for articles are:
  • author
  • title
  • periodical (journal/magazine/newspaper)
  • date

Note for books:  the city (place of publication) is important for a bibliographic citation, but it is usually not searchable.

Note for articles:  the volume and pages are also important for a bibliographic citation, but they are usually not searchable.

You might think of fields in terms of a farm.  A farmer plants crops in separate fields so that it is easier to harvest and otherwise take care of them.  When the farmer wants some fresh corn for supper, she knows that she will find it in the corn field. 

                           

 

Field Searching in Databases

When you are doing a search in a database, the database can find your information faster when you specify by field.

Each database puts each piece of information in the same location.   (It is important when creating a bibliography, works cited, or reference list, that you do the same thing.)  To find items more quickly, use the information you know to locate them. 

Look for authors in the author field
Look for titles in the title field
etc.

An important field found in most databases (including the library catalog) is the subject field.  The subject field may have a different name depending on the database:

Library of Congress Subjects Subjects (used on full record in library catalog & elsewhere)
Descriptors (DE) Major descriptors, minor descriptors
Identifiers (ID) (usually a subgroup) Topic
Classification Codes MeSH (Medline--medical subject headings)
Subject Terms Index terms

The abstract field is another major field that can be useful to search (when it is available).  An abstract is a non-evaluative summary of a source (usually an article, but can be a book chapter, conference proceedings, or other resource).

Most databases let you know what fields are "searchable" and will give a list describing any abbreviations used (for example PY= publishing year, AB=abstract, etc.).  Look under "Help" for field abbreviations, fields, or a similar term.

Specifically in the Library Catalog

When you do a Title search in the library catalog, you are essentially telling the database to search for the words you've typed in the title field--only.  If you are missing words near the beginning of the title or are missing or using different punctuation than the title in the library catalog, you might not find the item you seek. 

When you do an Author/Creator search, the database looks for the name (personal or corporate) in the author field.

You can specify containsis (exact), or starts with for Title, Author/Creator, Subject, Any Field, and other advanced searches in the library catalog.

 

Keyword Searching in Databases (might be "All Fields")

 

When you do a keyword/"all fields" search, the computer searches more than one field; it looks for the word or words in the author, title, and subject fields.  It is doing a "keyword" search. This is why you sometimes get "weird" results when you do a keyword/"all fields" search.

For example, a "all fields" search for New Mexico in  finds 16,382 results (Oct. 2017), but not all of them are about the State of New Mexico. One of the titles is about events that look place in New Spain, which later became Mexico (or part of the United States). Because the search was an "all fields" search in the library catalog, it brought up this title.

Putting quotation marks around "New Mexico" turns it into a phrase search in the library catalog, and that search finds 14,024 results (Oct. 2017), all of which include the phrase "New Mexico" somewhere in their records.

Another example is doing an "all fields" (the default) search for Carnegie Hall. It finds this title, which has nothing to do with the musical event center in New York City.

This search: brings up four relevant entries:

One of the titles showing the subject:

Nonetheless, if you don't know what the "correct" subject heading is, it does not hurt to try a keyword/"all fields" search first.  Additionally, if you don't have an exact title for an item, the keyword/"all fields" search is useful, particularly when it has keywords that are not used frequently.  A title with "history" or "United States" is going to find a lot of records.  Using as many clues as possible; you can limit (or in the library catalog ) by year (date), type of material, language, location, and format, among the possibilities. 

 

French

Les Champs

Quand on fait des recherches en bibliothèque, le mot "champ" revient de temps en temps. Dans ce contexte, le mot champ désigne le rapport bibliographique d'un livre ou d'un article.

 

Pour rechercher un livre, on utilise ces champs bibliographiques:

  • L'auteur
  • Le titre
  • L'éditeur
  • La date
Pour rechercher un article, on utilise ces champs bibliographiques:
  • L'auteur
  • Le titre
  • Les périodiques (journaux académiques, magazines, presse populaire)
  • La date
Note: la ville de publication est importante dans une citation bibliographique, mais elle n'est généralement pas accessible aux recherches. Note: les numéros de volume et de pages sont importants dans une citation bibliographique, mais, ils ne sont généralement pas accessible aux recherches.

Imaginez un champ: le cultivateur l'a séparé en plusieurs lots qu'il a ensemencés de différentes graines pour faciliter la récolte. Quand il veut du maïs frais pour le dîner, il sait qu'il le trouvera dans le champ de maïs.

 

new_corn.jpg (31541 bytes)

 

fielddr3.gif (1636 bytes)

 

 

Quand vous faites de la recherche dans une base de données, précisez le champ, cela vous facilitera la tâche.

 

Les bases de données classent chaque renseignement dans un lieu spécifique. (Si vous créez une bibliographie, une liste d'œuvres, ou de références, faites-en de même, de manière à utiliser vos renseignements plus efficacement). 

 

Cherchez les auteurs dans le champs des auteurs

Cherchez les villes dans le champ des titres etc.

compauti.gif (1462 bytes)

 

Dans la plupart des bases de données, le champ des matières est très important et son nom varie selon les bases de données:

 

Library of Congress Subjects (to search library catalog) Subject (used on full record in catalog & elsewhere)
Descriptors (DE) Major descriptors, minor descriptors
Identifiers (ID) (usually a subgroup) Topic
Classification Codes MeSH (Medline--medical subject headings)
Matières de la Library of Congress (recherchez dans catalog ) 
Descripteur (DE) 
Identificateurs (ID) (habituellement un sous-groupe) 
Codes de classification
Matière (utilisés sur des rapports complets sur catalog et ailleurs) 
Matière 
MeSH (Medline-Entêtes de sujets médicaux)

Le champ des résumés est un autre champ important qui peut vous être utile (si disponible). Un résumé donne un aperçu impartial d'une source, tel qu'un article, un chapitre de livre, un compte-rendu de conférence, ou d'autres ressources.

La plupart des bases de données indiquent les champs utilisables pour la recherche, et comprennent une liste des abréviations utilisées (exemple: PY= année de publication, AB= résumé, etc.). Utilisez la rubrique d'aide pour trouver les abréviations des champs, les champs eux-mêmes ou des termes similaires.

Quand vous recherchez un TITRE sur SAGE, vous indiquez à la base de données de rechercher uniquement le mot que vous avez tapé dans le champs des titres. SAGE énumère tous les titres par ordre alphabétique. S'il vous manque des mots ou si vous n'avez pas la ponctuation correcte, vous risquez de ne pas trouver le titre que vous cherchez. 

 

  • Par exemple, All Quiet on the Western Front n'apparaît pas dans le même ordre alphabétique que All is Quiet on the Western Front par conséquent, si vous cherchez un titre, assurez-vous qu'il soit exact. (si vous ne connaissez pas le titre exact, utilisez un MOT dans votre recherche, au lieu d'un titre)

Si vous cherchez un AUTEUR, la base de données recherche le nom (personnel ou commercial) dans le champ des auteurs.

De même pour les titres de journaux académiques ou de presse populaire. Pour le sujets de la Library of Congress, utilisez les numéros.

 

Les recherches de MOTS dans catalog

Quand vous recherchez des MOTS, l'ordinateur effectue sa recherche dans plusieurs champs, il cherche le ou les mots dans les champs d'auteurs, de titres et de matières. Il fait une recherche par "mot clé". C'est pourquoi vous obtenez parfois des résultats bizarres en faisant une recherche de MOTS.

Par exemple, une recherche pour "Carnegie Hall" produit 15 résultats, mais la plupart d'entre eux ne concernent pas cet édifice ni son histoire. Fossil Vertebrate from Northern America and Mexico apparaît comme étant hors sujet, il n'apparaît que parce que l'institution Carnegie a publié cette recherche et que R.E. Hall en a écrit un chapitre. Intelligent Robots and Computer Vision: November 5 - 8, 1984, Cambridge, Massasuchetts est un problème différent, mais quand on examine l'article, on voit que l'une des organisations qui y a coopéré n'est autre que Carnegie-Mellon University et qu'Ernest I. Hall en est l'un des principaux éditeurs.

 

sagewdcarnhall.gif (3696 bytes)

Comme "Carnegie" et "Hall" apparaissent tous deux dans l'article, la base de données a bien fourni les renseignements demandés. En regardant dans les titres pertinents, on remarque qu'il existe une entête de sujet pour Carnegie Hall:

 

sagewdcarnhall2.gif (5611 bytes)  

En faisant une recherche par sujets, on trouve trois titres pertinents, ce qui est beaucoup plus efficace.

 

sagesucarnhall2.gif (4667 bytes)

Néanmoins, si vous ne connaissez pas l'entête de sujet correcte, vous pouvez toujours essayer de chercher par MOTs d'abord. De plus, si vous ne connaissez pas le titre exact de ce que vous recherchez, la recherche pas MOTS s'avère utile, particulièrement quand certains mots clés ne sont pas couramment utilisés. Des titre comme "history" ou "United States", donneront de nombreux résultats. Utilisez le plus de définitions possibles, et précisez [limit] votre recherche par une année (date), un type de matériel, une langue, un lieu, les mots qui composent le titre, l'auteur, ou le champ de matière. Dans SAGE vous pouvez également deviner un sujet de la "Library of Congress" et si vous devinez juste, le catalogue de la bibliothèque vous indiquera le terme de préférence:

 

cookingery.gif (3649 bytes)

Dans cet exemple, si vous cherchez "cooking" dans les sujets de la Library of Congress, la base de données utilisera "cookery" au lieu de "cooking".

La plupart des bases de données ne donnent pas de terme exact dans ce format. Il vous appartient de trouver ce terme dans un dictionnaire imprimé ou électronique ou dans le champ d'un descripteur de sujet d'articles apparentés que vous trouverez en faisant une recherche par mots générique.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/howtodo | Print Page