How to Do Library Research

A good place to begin researching a policy topic is in a subject encyclopedia or other relevant reference book that specializes in social or political issues. A major benefit of consulting these sources first is that many of the articles in them will have a bibliography. The article and the bibliography combined make a great jumping off point for your research.   The encyclopedias below are available in Morgan Library Reference. An online database with multiple encyclopedias (accessible to CSU affiliates) is listed at the foot of this page. See General Encyclopedias for broader definitions of terms and concepts.

Overview of Issues

• Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues. 2011. Contents of the encyclopedia available on linked page.

Societal

• The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2011.
• Encyclopedia of Sociology 5 vols. HM 425 .E5 2000 REF & ebook (CSU affiliates only)

Family & Society

• Adolescence in America: An Encyclopedia 2 vols. HQ 796 .A33247 2001 REF
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History. 2012
• Encyclopedia of Family Life 5 vols. HQ 534 .E53 1999 REF
• The Family in the New Millennium 3 vols. HQ 519 .F37 2007 REF
• International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family. 4 vols. HQ9 .E52 2003 REF online edition (CSU affiliates only)
• Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia 2 vols. HQ 755.8 .P3783 2000 and ebook (CSU affiliates only)

Times of Life/Death

• Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence HQ 772 .G27 1998 REF
• Encyclopedia of Adolescence. 2011.
• Encyclopedia of Aging 4 vols. HQ 1061 .E534 2002 REF & ebook (CSU affiliates only)
• Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health. 2007.
• Encyclopedia of Death & Dying HQ 1073 .E543 2001 REF
• Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care. 2014.
• International Encyclopedia of Adolescence 2 vols. HQ 796 .I58 2007 REF

Crime

• Encyclopedia of Child Abuse HV 6626.5 .C57 2001 REF
• Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior 4 vols. HV 6017 .E53 2001 REF
• Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice 4 vols. HV 6017 .E52 2002 REF & ebook (CSU affiliates only)
• Encyclopedia of Crime & Punishment 4 vols. HV 6017 .E524 2002 REF
• Encyclopedia of Criminology 3 vols. HV 6017 .E5295 2005 REF
• Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence 2 vols. HM1121 .E57 2008 REF
• Encyclopedia of Women and Crime HV 6046 .E56 2000 REF

Environment

• Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia GE 10 .C68 1995 REF
• Encyclopedia of Biodiversity 5 vols. QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001 REF
• Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences. 5 vols. GB655 .E527 2005 REF & ebook (CSU affiliates only)
• Encyclopedia of Ecology & Environmental Management. 2009
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation 8 vols. GE 10 .E49 1998 REF
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology 3 vols. QH 540.4 .E52 1995 REF
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues 3 vols. GE 10 .E52 2000 REF
• Encyclopedia of Global Change. 2005-
• Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society 2 vols. GE 149 .E47 2002 REF
• Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. 3 vols. QC981.8 .G56 E47 REF
• Encyclopedia of Toxicology 4 vols. RA 1193 .E53 2005 REF
• Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures 4 vols. HT 108.5 .E53 2002 REF
• Environmental Encyclopedia. 2003.
• Water: Science and Issues. 2003

Health

• Encyclopedia of Bioethics 5 vols. QH 332 .E52 2004 REF & ebook (CSU affiliates only)
• Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior. 2009
• Encyclopedia of Family Health 18 vols. RC 81 .A2 E5 2005 REF
• Encyclopedia of Public Health 4 vols. RA 423 .E53 2002 REF & ebook (CSU affiliates only)
• Facts on Files Encyclopedia of Health & Medicine 4 vols. R 125 .R68 2006 REF
• The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders. 2005
• Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health. 2013
• Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. 2006
• Human Diseases and Conditions. 2010

American Law/Politics

• Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System 3 vols. JF 501 .E53 1994 REF
• Encyclopedia of American Political History. E183 .E48 2001 REF
• Encyclopedia of Democracy 4 vols. JC 423 .E53 1995 REF
• Encyclopedia of the American Left 2nd ed. HX 86 .E58 1998 REF
• Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy. E183.7 .H28 2004 REF

Cultures in America

• American Immigrant Cultures 2 vols. E 184 .A1 A63448 1997 REF
• Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2014

Human Rights

• Encyclopedia of Human Rights. 2009
• Human Rights Encyclopedia 3 vols. JC 571 .L522 2001 REF
• International Encyclopedia of Human Rights, Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies JC 571 .M3243 2000 REF

War & Arms

• Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament 3 vols. JX 1974 .E57 1993 REF
• Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment UB 800 .E53 2006 REF
• Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict 3 vols. HM 291 .E625 1999 REF
• Encyclopedia of Youth and War: Young People as Participants and Victims HQ 784 .W3 S54 2000 REF
• The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace. 2010