How to Do Library Research

This set of pages has information on how to do library research. In all cases, once you have located sources, be sure to evaluate them, using the evaluation guides.

Introduction to Scholarly vs Trade vs Popular Journals

The following is a list of General Criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals. Some journals do not meet all the criteria in one category. For example, Scientific American, which has glossy pages and color pictures, contains both scholarly articles as well as those geared to a more general audience. Accountability and content of the specific article are the key criteria used to determine if an article is scholarly. 

See also Evaluation Clues for online articles.

What to look for...

CRITERIA POPULAR MAGAZINES TRADE MAGAZINES SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
Appearance eye-catching cover

glossy paper

pictures and illustrations in color

each issue starts with page 1

cover depicts industrial setting

 

glossy paper

 

pictures and illustrations in color

 

each issue starts with page 1
plain cover

plain paper

black/white graphics and illustrations

pages consecutive throughout each volume

Audience nonprofessionals members of a specific business, industry or organization researchers and professionals
Content
personalities, news, and general interest articles

articles written by staff, may be unsigned

industry trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news

articles written by staff or contributing authors

research projects, methodology, and theory

articles written by contributing authors

Accountability editorial review

no bibliographies

editorial review

may have short bibliographies

peer review/refereed

 

has bibliographies

Advertisements heavy moderate

all or most are trade related

few or none
Examples

Gourmet

New York

Psychology Today

Time

Chilton's Food Engineering

Public Management

APA Monitor

AdAge

Journal of Food Science

Urban Studies 

Journal of Applied Psychology

Journal of Extension

Peer Review

A Note about Peer Review

"Peer review" refers to the policy of having experts in the field examine journal articles before acceptance for publication. Peer review insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound and of high quality. Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of peer review. Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory, found at Ulrichsweb online to CSU affiliates, has a list of refereed journals. However, not all scholarly journals are on this list. For unlisted journals, examine the editorial policy, instructions to authors, and/or the editorial board list of members to determine if the editorial boards and/or consultants are experts in the field.

No matter what type of journal an article comes from, be sure to evaluate it. Use How to Evaluate Journal Articles as a guide.

Revistas populares VS Revistas comerciales VS Revistas académicas

La siguiente es una lista de criterio general que se puede utilizar para distinguir entre revistas populares, revistas comerciales y revistas académicas. Algunas revistas no cumplen con todo el criterio en una categoría. Por ejemplo, la Scientific American, que se imprime en papel satinado y tiene fotografías en color, contiene artículos académicos tanto como ésos dirigidos más a un público general. La responsabilidad a alguien y el contenido del artículo específico forman el criterio clave para determinar si el artículo es académico. See Evaluation Clues for Articles Taken from the Web for cases when you do not have an entire issue to examine.

CRITERIO REVISTAS POPULARES REVISTAS COMERCIALES REVISTAS ACADÉMICAS
Apariencia
book
portada llamativa

papel satinado

fotos e ilustraciones en color

cada número empieza con la página 1

portada representa ambiente industrial

papel satinado

fotos e ilustraciones en color

cada número empieza con la página 1

portada sencilla

papel sencillo

diseños e ilustraciones en blanco y negro

pagínación consecutiva en cada volumen

Público a los no-profesionales a los miembros/socios de un negocio, una industria o una organización específica a los investigadores y a los profesionales
Contenido
personalidades, noticias y artículos de interés general

Artículos escritos por los redactors (el personal), pueda que no se firmen

las tendencias industriales, productos o técnicas nuevas y noticias de las organizaciones

artículos escritos por el personal o autores contribuyentes

proyectos de investigación, metodología y teoría

artículos escritos por autores contribuyentes

Responsabilidad reexamen editorial

sin bibliografía

reexamen editorial

puede que tenga una bibliografía breve

Reexamen por paritarios/artículos arbitrados

contiene bibliografías

Anuncios muchísimos en moderación

todos o casi todos se relacionan al comercio

pocos o ninguno
Ejemplos Gourmet

New York

Psychology Today

Time

Chilton's Food Engineering

Public Management

APA Monitor

Advertising Age
Journal of Food Science

Urban Studies

Journal of Applied Psychology

Journal of Extension

Una nota sobre el reexamen por paritarios El término "Reexamen paritario" se refiere a la política de tener a peritos en el campo para que ellos examinen artículos profesionales antes de que éstos se acepten para la publicación. El reexamen paritario asegura que la investigación descrita en los artículos de la revista es sólida y de alta calidad. A veces el término "arbitrado" se usa en vez de reexamen paritario. El Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory ubicado detrás del Escritorio de Referencia ahora contiene una lista de revistas arbitradas. Sin embargo, no todas las revistas académicas se incluyen en esta lista. Para las revistas no alistadas, examine la política editorial, las instrucciones al autor y/o la lista del consejo editorial de miembros/socios para determinar si los consejos editoriales y/o los consejeros son peritos en el campo particular.

Traducido por Maria Langley

 

Magazines populaires, magazines professionnels, journaux académiques

Ce qui suit est une liste de critères généraux qu'on peut employer pour distinguer les magazines populaires, des magazines professionnels et des journaux académiques. Certains journaux ne répondent pas à tous ces critères de leur catégorie. Par exemple Scientific American ( T1 .S5), avec ses pages couleurs sur papier glacé, contient a la fois des articles érudits et d'autres destinés a l'ensemble des lecteurs. La responsabilité et le contenu de l'article spécifique sont les principaux critères utilisés pour déterminer si un article est érudit.

CRITERIA LES MAGAZINES POPULAIRES MAGAZINES PROFESSIONNELS JOURNAUX SCIENTIFIQUES ET ACADEMIQUES
Aspect
book

couverture attirante

papier glacé

images et illustrations en couleurs

chaque exemplaire commence par la page 1

la couverture depeint un décor industriel

papier glacé

images et illustrations en couleurs

chaque exemplaire commence par la page 1

couverture papier ordinaire

papier ordinaire

dessins et illustrations noir et blanc

pages consécutives dans tout le volume

Audience

non professionnels Membres d'un corps de métier, industrie ou organisation spécifiques chercheurs et diplomés
Contenu Personnalités, nouvelles et articles d'intêret général

les articles écrits par le personnels sont parfois non signés

tendances d'industrie, nouveaux produits ou techniques, et nouvelles d'organisation

articles écrits par le personnel ou des auteurs participants

projets de recherche, methodologie, et theorie

articles écrits en contribuant des auteurs

Responsabilité

contrôle éditorial

aucune bibliographie

contrôle éditorial

parfois de courtes bibliographies

Revu et édit‚ par des pairs
Publicité Importante

moderée

presqu' entièrement professionnelle

peu ou pas du tout
Exemples

Paris Match

Gourmet

Psychology Today

Time

 

Chilton's Food Engineering

APA Monitor

Advertising Age

Études françaises

Journal of Food Science

Journal of Applied Psychology

Journal of Extension

Note sur l'examen par des pairs "L'examen par des pairs" concerne la pratique qui consiste a faire revoir les articles de journaux par les membres de la même profession avant d'en accepter la publication. L'examen par des pairs garantit que la recherche décrite dans l'article de journal est saine et de haute qualité. Parfois on utilise le terme "arbitrage" au lieu d'examen par des pairs. Le Répertoire International de Périodiques d'Ulrichque qu'on trouve derrière le Bureau de Références, a maintenant une liste de journaux arbitrés. Cependant tous les journaux académiques ne sont pas sur cette liste. Pour les journaux non-listés, examinez la politique‚ editoriale, les instructions aux auteurs, et/ou la liste des membres du comité de rédaction pour déterminer si celui-ci, et/ou les conseillers sont des experts dans ce domaine.

Traduit par Michele Nelson

Evaluation Clues for articles Found on the Web or in Library Databases

As more articles are published electronically as full text (complete article), clues from the publication itself are not available for the user to identify whether the article is from a scholarly journal or not. This page has suggestions for ways to determine if an article is scholarly when you don't have the printed journal in front of you:

  • A scholarly article will tend to have an extensive (more than ten entries) bibliography. Most genuinely scholarly sources will have a bibliography or reference list (sometimes called works cited) with thirty or more sources.
  • The length of the article can be an indicator of type--longer articles (more than ten pages) will tend to be scholarly.
  • Information about the journal that the article is in can be found in UlrichsWeb (Ulrich's Periodical Directory)UlrichsWeb also includes updated reviews from Magazines for Libraries and a few other sources--click on  to see them. These are indicated on the initial search results page by a yellow star in the star column (to the left of the title). See Identifying Key Journals in a Field for additional information about using these reference sources. A scholarly article will most often be from an academic or scholarly publication.

  (from UlrichsWeb)

  • The index that is used to identify the article can be a clue for identifying scholarly journals. An index such as Biological Abstracts or PsycINFO is only going to include scholarly journals. Web of Science, which combines Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, only contains citations to scholarly articles. (Note: CSU affiliates may check the  link for electronic--and print--ownership of journal issues.) Many of the articles found in indexes such as Academic Search Premier or Business Source Complete, are from either popular or trade magazines.
  • Scholarly sources are sometimes separated in indexes: Business Source Complete and Academic Search Premier (and a number of other databases) offer a check box on the initial search screen for . By checking the box, search results will only include citations to scholarly articles. After a search has been made, on the left-hand side  or  may be selected instead. Occasionally there are scholarly sources in general databases--examine the other clues suggested on this page to determine if an individual article is scholarly and/or see How to Evaluate Journal Articles.
  • Look for information about the author. A scholarly article will generally have an author who is affiliated with a university or other scholarly organization. For example:  and . However, scholars have been known to write articles for a general audience, so do not presume that because an author is an academic that an article is automatically scholarly.
  • As a general rule, newspaper articles are not considered to be scholarly, although there are very rare exceptions to this rule. However, just as with magazines, there are many instances when a researcher will want to use them.
     
  • The journal publisher's own Web site often will indicate whether or not the journal is peer reviewed/refereed (scholarly). UlrichsWeb frequently has a link to journal Web sites.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/howtodo | Print Page