How to Do Library Research

This set of pages has information on how to do library research. In all cases, once you have located sources, be sure to evaluate them, using the evaluation guides.

Electronic Searching

Use this guide as a way to learn how to search any bibliographic (identifies sources) database. When you have found the answers to these questions, you should be able to search the database well beyond a basic level.

Database name:___________________________________________

  1. Are all the years available in one disk or by selecting one menu choice? If not, how do you select the disk or years you want to search? (e.g. check box) Are you able to search more than one set of years?
  2. Summarize the description of the database's contents (if available) from the initial screen by selecting Information or About (as word or icon), or through the help screen (question #3). Does the database contain journal and/or magazine articles? books? book chapters? dissertations? newspaper articles? proceedings? what subject areas are covered?:
     
  3. What key or icon do you select to get help? ________________(e.g. F1, Help icon, circle with question mark in it)
  4. At the search prompt, type in the word research. How many items are found?______________
    (if there are 0, try study or experiment, to get a result greater than zero).
  5. How do you display or show the full record (complete citation) for items in the database? ___________
    (e.g. press F4, select hyperlinked title or other hyperlinked term such as View or Complete Record).
  6. Go through a few records. How do you get from one item to the next? ___________ (e.g. Page Down, "Next," forward arrow)
  7. Look at the way several records are displayed. How does the database indicate the author of items? The title? The journal or source? (e.g. AU:, TI:, JN:; Author, Title, Source)

     

-->To locate an article, you need the bibliographic citation for it. The citation includes the author, title of the article, journal name, volume, pages, and date.
-->For a book you need the author, title, city of publication, publisher, and date.

  1. Enter the citation for one of the articles found above:
     
  2. How are subject headings or descriptors identified in the database? _____________
    (e.g. DE:, Subjects:)
  3. Are you able to modify or limit your search results? _______________If yes, how?
     
  4. How do you return to the main search screen to do a new search?__________
    (e.g. Esc, F, Main Search, "Search")
  5. Find out if the database supports Boolean operators. (Boolean operators are AND, OR, and NOT [sometimes AND NOT or NO]. AND narrows a search, OR broadens a search, NOT/NO eliminates items.) Do a two word search for something that interests you. Write your terms (words) in the blanks. In your first search put AND between the terms and in the second search put OR; record your results. (Some databases may have a different way to do this--note your results!)
    • Term 1: _________________________ Term 2: _________________________
      a. Search Term 1 -- Results:___________________ If fewer than 5, select another term
      b. Search Term 2 -- Results:___________________ If fewer than 5, select another term
      c. Search: Term 1 AND Term 2 -- Results: ___________________
      d. Search: Term 1 OR Term 2 -- Results: ____________________
      The AND search usually results in fewer items than a search for either term. An OR search can have up to the total of the two terms together. Use AND to make a more precise search (for example: cookery and Italian). Use OR to increase the number of items found (for example: classic or modern).
  6. Does the database include the full text (complete article) of some or all of the articles? ___Yes--selected ___ Yes--all ___ No.
    If yes, do the articles include illustrations, or, indicators for tables and images? ___ Illustrations ___ indicators (such as [IMAGE], [TABLE])
  7. How do you print what you find? _________________ (e.g. "Print" icon, Mark/Tag records first, then show and print)


     
  8. Can you e-mail from the database full text articles? ____ Yes _____ No; if no, can you e-mail the citations? ____Yes ____ No
  9. Do some searches on a topic in the database (see your answer to #2), using the answers you wrote above as your guide. Write your searches and results below:

     
  10. Searchers who wish to be more precise may want to find out if truncation and proximity operators are available. Look in the help screens to find out about these.
    • Truncation is a mechanism for searching multiple terms that begin with a desired prefix. For example, "build" with a truncation symbol will search for build, building, buildings, builder, etc. The symbol varies from database to database. Frequently it is an asterisk (*), dollar sign ($), or plus sign (+). In some databases, truncation is used to search for the root word only. Read the help screens in the database for exact details.
    • Proximity operators are a way to ensure that the search terms appear next to one another, within a certain number of words, or appear in the same sentence, paragraph, or field. "With" and "near" may have different meanings, depending on the database, so again, read the help screens for details.
  11. How do you exit the database?___________________________________ (e.g., Quit, Logoff, "Exit"; no exit--> use browser "home" icon)

La recherche électronique (en ligne, CD-ROM, dans les catalogues en ligne) --Comment explorer une base de données

Utilisez ce guide comme moyen de recherche bibliographique de bases de données (identifiez les sources). Quand vous aurez trouvé la réponse à ces questions vous serez amplement qualifié pour faire des recherches dans une base de données.

Nom de la base de données:___________________________________________

  1. Peut-on trouver toutes les années sur une seule disquette ou en sélectionnant un choix sur le menu? Si non, comment sélectionner la disquette ou les années qui vous intéeressent ? (Par exemple tapez sur "entrée", puis sur la barre d'espace et "entrée").

     

  2. Résumez la description du contenu de la base de données (si disponible) de l'écran initial en sélectionnant "information" (le mot, ou l'icône) ou par la rubrique d'aide (question no 3). La base de données contient-elle des articles? des livres? des rapports? Quels domaines d'expertise traite-t-elle?

     

  3. Sur quelle touche taper? Ou sur quelle icône double-cliquer pour trouver de l'aide? ________________ (par exemple, F1 comme icône d'aide)?

     

  4. Tapez le mot "recherche" à l'invite de recherche. Combien d'articles trouvez-vous? ______________ (Si vous en trouvez 0, essayez "étude" ou "expérience" pour trouver un résultat supérieur à zéro).

     

  5. Comment montrer la liste complète de tous les articles trouvés sur la base de données?_____________ (Par exemple tapez sur F4, sélectionnez le lien hypertexte tel que : "Vue" ou "liste complète".)

     

  6. Examinez plusieurs listes. Comment passez-vous d'un article à un autre?__________________ (Exemple: page prochaine, icône "Suite", et icône fléchée.)

     

  7. Regardez l'écran: comment les listes sont-elles représentées? Comment les auteurs des articles sont-ils indiqués? Le titre? Le journal ou la source? (Exemple AU:; TI:; JN:; Auteur, titre, source.)

     

-->Pour localiser un article, il vous faut sa citation bibliographique. La citation comprends l'auteur, le titre de l'article, le nom du journal, le volume, la page, et la date.


-->Pour localiser un livre, il vous faut le nom de l'auteur, du titre, de la ville de publication, du nom de l'éditeur et de la date.

 

  1. Entrez la citation pour l'un des articles trouvés plus haut.:

     

  2. Comment la base de données identifie-t-elle les en-têtes de sujets ou les description?______________ (Exemple DE:; sujets:).

     

  3. Pouvez-vous modifier ou limiter les résultats de vos recherches?______________ .Si oui, comment?

     

  4. 11. Comment retourner à l'écran principal pour effectuer une nouvelle recherche?______________ (Par exemple: Echappe F, icône de recherche).

     

  5. Trouvez si la base de données utilise les Opérateurs Booléens. (les Opérateurs Booléens sont: ET, OU et SAUF (Quelquefois ET, OU, et NO). ET limite la recherche, OU l'élargit et SAUF élimine des articles) Faites une recherche à deux mots pour trouver quelque chose qui vous intéresse. Ecrivez vos termes (Words=Mots) dans les cases vierges. Mettez ET [AND--anglais] entre les termes de votre première recherche et OU [OR--anglais] entre les termes votre deuxième recherche. Notez les résultats (Cela peut varier avec les bases de données, notez donc vos résultats!).

    Terme 1: _________________________

    Terme 2: _________________________

    a. Recherchez le terme 1 -- Results:___________________inférieurs a 5, sélectionnez un autre terme.

    b. Recherchez le terme 2 -- Results:___________________inférieurs a 5, sélectionnez un autre terme.

    c. Recherchez le terme 1 ET le terme 2---Résultats:: ___________________

    d. c. Recherchez le terme 1 OU le terme 2---Résultats:: ____________________

    La recherche avec ET donne habituellement moins de résultats que la recherche de chacun des termes. La recherche avec OU totalise les deux termes a la fois. Utilisez ET pour une recherche plus précise (par exemple "cuisine" et "Italienne". Utilisez OU pour augmenter le nombre des articles trouvés (par exemple classique et moderne).

  6. La base de données inclut-elle le texte complet (L'article complet), quelques uns, ou tous les articles? ___Oui sélectionnés____Oui tous___Non. Si oui, les articles incluent-ils des illustrations ou des indications pour trouver des tableaux et des images?_____ Des illustrations?____des indications (comme [IMAGE], [TABLEAU])

     

  7. Comment imprimer vos résultats?___________ (par exemple l'icône imprimez/marquez les listes en premier, ensuite affichez et imprimez).

     

  8. Recherchez un sujet sur la base de données (C.F. votre réponse no 2) en utilisant comme guide, les réponses que vous avez notées. Notez vos recherches et vos résultats ci-dessous:

     

  9. Les chercheurs qui veulent plus de précision peuvent employer la troncature et les opérateurs de proximité si besoin est. Cherchez-les dans la rubrique d'aide.
    • La troncature est un mécanisme de recherche de termes multiples qui commencent par le préfixe désiré. Par exemple: "build" accompagné d'un symbole de troncature va donner "build, building, buildings, builder "etc.. Le symbole varie selon les bases de données. Souvent, c'est un astérisque (*), le signe du Dollar ($) ou le signe plus (+). Dans certaines bases de données, on utilise la troncature pour chercher uniquement les mots de même racine. Pour obtenir des détails précis, lisez la rubrique d'aide sur l'écran.
    • Les opérateurs de proximité recherche apparaissent l'un près de l'autre, à raison d'un certain nombre de mots, ou qu'ils apparaissent dans la même phrase, paragraphe ou champ. "Avec" et "a côté" peuvent avoir une signification différente selon la base de données. Pour trouver plus de détails, lisez la rubrique d'aide.
       
  10. Comment sortir de la base de données?_________________________(exemple: "Quittez", ou l'icône de sortie).

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/howtodo | Print Page