How to Do Library Research

These pages list reference books that have collected biographies of members of ethnic groups found in the US.

Also look under the person's profession for biographical information.

• African Americans
• Arab Americans
• Asian Americans
• Hispanic/Latino Americans
• Mexican Americans
• Native Americans

The listed books are in Morgan Library stacks.

• African-American Almanac. Detroit, MI Gale, 2003.
  E 185.5 .N385 2003 Morgan

• African American Biography. 4 vols. USA: UXL (Gale), 1994.
  E 185.96 .A44 1994 Morgan
• African American Encyclopedia. 8 vols. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1993-1997.
  E185 .A253 1993 (vols. 1-6) Morgan E 185 .A2532 1997 (vols. 7-8) Morgan
• African American Women A Biographical Dictionary. New York Garland, 1993.
  E185.96 .A45 1993 Morgan
• Burkett, Randall K. ed. Black Biography 1790-1950: A Cumulative Index. 3 vols. Alexandria: Chadwyck-Healey, 1991.
  E 185.96 .B494 1991 Morgan.  First section of Volume 3 lists bibliographic citations for sources mentioned in Volumes 1-2.
• Haskins, James. Distinguished African American Political and Governmental Leaders. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx, 1999.
  E185.61 .H359 1999 Morgan
• Hawkins, Walter L. African American Biographies. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1994.
  E185.96 .H382 1992 & 1994 Morgan. Profiles of 558 (Vol. 1) and 332 (Vol. 2) men and women.
• Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Brooklyn, NY: Carlson, 1993.
  E 185.86 .B542 1993 Morgan
• Contemporary Black Biography. 79 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1992-2010.
  E 185.96 .C66 Morgan
• Notable Black American Men. Detroit Gale, 1999.
  E185.86 .N68 1999 Morgan
• Notable Black American Women. 3 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1992, 1996, 2003.
  E 185.96 .N68 1992 Morgan
• Salley, Columbus. The Black 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential African-Americans, Past and Present. New York: Citadel, 1993.
  E 185.96 .S225 1993 Morgan
• Smith, Sande, ed. Who's Who in African-American History. New York: Smithmark, 1994.
  E 185.96 .W46 1994 Morgan
• Who's Who Among African Americans. New York: Gale, 1980- . (Earlier editions entitled Who's Who Among Black Americans.)
  E 185.96 .W52 1996-99 Morgan 2005- available WWAAonline to CSU affiliates (link is to 2011 edition).

This book is located in Morgan Library Reference.

• Hall, Loretta. Arab American Biography. 2 vols. Detroit : U.X.L., 1999.
  E184.A65 H35 1999 REF

The following are Reference books found in Morgan Library.

• Distinguished Asian Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1999.
  E 184 .O6 D57 1999 Morgan and DAAonline to CSU affiliates

• Distinguished Asian American Business Leaders. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
  HC102.5.A2 H56 2003 REF
• Lives of Notable Asian Americans: Business, Politics, Science. New York: Chelsea House, 1995.
  E 184 .O6 R34 1995 Morgan
• Notable Asian Americans. New York: Gale, 1995.
  E 184 .O6 N67 1995 Morgan
• Who's Who Among Asian Americans. Detroit: Gale, 1994.
  E 184 .O6 W47 1994/95 Morgan
• Asian American Biography. 2 vols. New York: Gale, 1995.
  E 184 .O6 A85 1995 Morgan.   Has index by profession.

The books listed here can be found in Morgan Library Reference.

• Dictionary of Hispanic Biography. New York: Gale, 1996.
  CT 1345 .D53 1996 REF
• Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States. 2nd ed. Detroit : Gale, 1997.
  E 184 .S75 H557 1997 Morgan
• The Latino Encyclopedia. 6 vols. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1996.
  E 184 .S75 L357 1996 Morgan
• Notable Hispanic American Women. 2 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1993.
  E 184 .S75 N68 1993 & 1998 REF
• Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1997.
  E 184 .S75 M435 1997 REF
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. 4 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
  E184.S75 O97 2005 Morgan and IELLonline to CSU affiliates
• Who's Who Among Hispanic Americans 1991-92. Detroit: Gale, 1991.
  E184.S75 W56  3d 1994/95  REF

Here are a few volumes that can be found at the Morgan Library.

• Meier, Matt S. Dictionary of Mexican American History. Westport, CT : Greenwood, 1981.
  Z 4485  Storage Access

• Meier, Matt S. Mexican American Biographies: A Historical Dictionary 1836-1987. New York: Greenwood, 1988.
  E 184 .M5 M454 1988 Morgan

Most of the books listed here are found in Morgan Library stacks.

• Henkes, Robert. Native American Painters of the Twentieth Century: The Works of 61 Artists. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1995.
  E98.P23 H46 1995 Morgan
• Notable Native Americans. New York: Gale, 1995.
  E 89 .N67 1995 Morgan
• Johansen, Bruce E. The Encyclopedia of Native American Biography: Six Hundred Life Stories of Important People from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller. New York Henry Holt, 1997.
  E89 .J69 1997 Morgan
• Malinowski, Sharon, and Simon Glickman, eds. Native North American Biography. 2 vols. New York: Gale, 1996.
  E 89 .N38 1996 Morgan.   Lists names by tribal groups/nations. Has index by profession.
• Markowitz, Harvey, ed. American Indian Biographies. Pasadena, CA: Salem, 1999.
  E89 .A46 1999 Morgan and AIBonline to CSU affiliates
• Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary. New York Garland, 2001.
  E98.W8 B38 2001 Morgan
• St. James Guide to Native North American Artists. Detroit St. James, 1998.
  E98.A7 S8 1998 REF
• Waldman, Carl. Who Was Who in Native American History: Indians and Non-Indians from Early Contacts through 1900. New York: Facts on File, 1990.
  E 89 .W35 1990 Morgan