The following is a selected list of subject encyclopedias owned by Colorado State University. Many large subjects have their own specialized encyclopedias. Most of these will have signed articles on specific topics--and a bibliography (a list of recommended sources). You can also locate other subject encyclopedias in the online catalog.
Policy topic encyclopedias (social work, marriage, sociology, politics, drugs and alcohol, families)
- The Complete Encyclopedia of Arms and Weapons U 815 .E 5313 1982 Reference
- Contemporary Artists N 6490 .C6567 1996 Reference
- The Cowboy Encyclopedia E 20 .S56 1994 Reference
- Dictionary of American History 7 + 1 vols. E 174 .A43 1976 Reference
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages 13 vols. D 114 .D5 1982 Reference
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History 5 vols. E 185 .E54 1996 Reference.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics 5 vols. QH 332 .E52 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer) 24+ vols. TP 9 .E685 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Energy, Technology, and the Environment 4 vols. TJ 163.235 .E53 1995 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Technology 4 vols. TP 368.2 .E62 1992 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Photography TR 9 .I24 1984 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Religion 16 vols. BL 31 .E46 1987 Reference
- Encyclopedia of Sociology 4 vols. HM 17 .E5 1992 Reference
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures 10 vols. GN 307 .E53 1991 Reference
- Volumes entitled: North America, Oceania, South Asia, Europe, East and Southeast Asia, Russia and Eurasia/China, South American, Middle East, Index
- Historic World Leaders 5 vols. D 412 .H57 Reference
- Volumes entitled: Africa, Middle East, Asia, Pacific; Europe A-Z; Europe L-Z, North & South America A-L; North and South America M-Z
- International Encyclopedia of Communications 4 vols. P 87.5 .I5 1989 Reference
- The International Encyclopedia of Higher Education 4 vols. LB 15 .E 49 1992 Reference
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects 4 vols. NA 40 .M25 1982 Reference
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology 20 vols. Q 121 .M 3 1992 Reference
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 20 vols. ML 100 .N48 Reference
Find a compilation of subject encyclopedias online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (CSU affiliates only).
Ask a Research Question
