Government (U.S.)

A one-stop source for environmental information. This site also provides access to the TRI dataset and Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Explorer tool. Can search by specific location, topics, or use their multisystem search.

Site gives access to yearly summaries of United States air pollution data. Provides information about where air pollution comes from (emissions) and how much pollution is detected in the air (monitoring). Site contains a collection of user-friendly visualization tools for air quality analysts with access maps, graphs, and data.

A cross-agency federal site useful for real-time air-quality indexing and mapping.

Recommended starting point for air pollution maps, monitors, facilities, and other air pollution related topics. Site provides access to report, maps and data queries.

The "Air Quality Data" contains links for current air quality and mapping for the state.

Develops policies, regulates pollution sources, and holds hearings on violations.

Resources to assist with learning about the many ways air pollution can harm both your health and the atmosphere and what you can do to help protect the air we breathe.

View emission summaries by state, county, or facility.

Recommended starting point for current and historic climatic data and measures. Archives weather information for local areas across the country, and provides educational and reference materials.

A part of NOAA (National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration) the NWS is responsible for weather predictions and warnings. It also offers a great deal of detailed information on past as well as current weather conditions.

Recommended starting point for data pertaining to snow.

Allows users to generate and download reports on soil characterization.

Excellent portal for links to soil information.

Access to a suite of web services and applications for obtaining custom soil data.

Includes listings of print soil surveys and links to those online. Good resource for the historical information or soil surveys by state.

Soil maps and data for more than 95% of nation's counties.

View current and historical streamflow, groundwater level, and water-quality data. Reports for Water Year 2006 to present.

This CSU library libguide links to various EPA resources.

Streamflow maps and conditions back to 1929.

State-level site data in PDF through Water Year 2005.

Recommended starting point for current and historical data on its surface water, ground water, and water quality.

Water Quality Information Center (WQIC) provides electronic access to information on water quality and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture.

National and county level water use compiled every five years.

Streamflow maps compared to historical data by day of the year back to 1901.

Provides information on several topics focusing on ground and surface water. Several tools are available for gathering and working with data.

Useful for real-time data; also connects to Snotel for snow conditions. Provides the ability to gather data on specific climate stations.

Monitors state water quality, including water pollution. Provides information on regulations and programs in Colorado.

View current conditions data or data for individual sites. Water flow and levels in stream, lakes, springs, and wells. Also has information on water quality.