Government (U.S.)

This guide has links to Federal governmental resources.

Introduction

This page has links to various governmental sites. Some of these links are available elsewhere on this Government Information Guide. The content in the first two boxes below were known as "Gateways." The first has links to Federal resources; the next section links to Colorado resources. Additional boxes cover narrower topics such as gaming in Colorado and driving rules in Colorado.

Federal Government

Catalog of U. S. Government Publications
(Government Printing Office) Useful for identifying government publications.
Finding a Document on the Shelf (CSU Libraries)
Detailed instructions on using the documents call number system correctly.
Google Government Search
A custom Google search, that limits search to government sites. Created by staff at Auburn University Libraries.
Government Information Online (GIO): Ask a Librarian
Ask government information librarians who are experts at finding information from government agencies of all levels (local, state, regional, national international) on almost any subject from aardvarks to zygomycosis.
Govinfo
Free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, replacing FDsys.
GPO Browse Government Publications
Browse government publications by collection, congressional committee, date or government author.
Health Topics (MedlinePlus)
A starting point for 650 conditions, diseases, and wellness.
Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
A searchable A-Z Index of U.S. Government departments and agencies maintained by USA.gov
National Archives
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Includes both statistics and a database for criminal justice articles.
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (FDA)
"Approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations."
Recreation.gov
Links to information about recreation areas in several federal agencies.
Science.gov
Searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Shopping and Consumer Issues
Tips on cars, housing, insurance, investing, and other areas provided by USA.gov.
USA.gov
Official US government portal for searches across its web sites.

Colorado

Colorado Virtual Library
Technology tips has "Short guides on ways new technology can help your professional development, improve your teaching, improve your library, and help keep you organized." Digital Colorado has histories and yesterday's news; About the State Library has links to information and services such as the Talking Book Library and State Publications Library.
Links to State Information by Subject
Electronic links to business and economics, corrections, health and environment, K-12, tourism, and many other topic areas.
Pandora (Colorado State Library)
The online catalog at this site comprehensively identifies Colorado publications.
School Research Topics
Although aimed at K-12 students, there are many valuable resources here for researchers at all levels.

Gaming--Colorado

Colorado Lottery. 1991-2000,2002-2005. REV8.10/ Colorado Docs Annual Reports for Colorado Lottery online 2009- .

Annual report.

Gaming in Colorado. 1993-2005; 2008- . REV10.11/ Colorado Docs

Annual data. Division of Gaming has links to laws and regulations and industry statistics. Also quick answers, links, and what's new (for example, 2014 Fact Book and Abstract).

Driving: Cars, Motorcycles, etc. Riding: Bicycles, etc.--Colorado

Colorado Driver Handbook. Colorado Motor Vehicle Division. REV3.8/D83/ Docs Ref. Colorado Driver Handbook also online in PDF.

Sections on driver's license, understanding Colorado's motor vehicle laws, rules of the road, safe driving tips, sharing the road, emergencies, and more. See DMV forms and documents, manuals (including a Spanish version of the Driver License Manual), and additional publications on the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles Forms and Publications page.

State of Colorado Motorcycle Operator's Handbook. REV3.8/M85/ Docs Ref. See also Rider Resources (Department of Public Safely. Colorado State Patrol.)

Web page has information from the Colorado Revised Statues (State Laws) and color-coded Colorado map that shows easy to difficult routes. Handbook not displaying 12/28/15. Direct link to PDF of Motorcycle Handbook working same date.

Sections cover driving safely, transporting cargo and passengers safely, air brakes, vehicle types, school buses, and more.

Colorado Bicycling Manual: A Guide to Safe Bicycling. PDF. Colorado Department of Transportation Bicycle/Pedestrian Program. 8th ed. 2008. 25 pages.

Rules of the road, traffic, equipment, roadways, official laws, glossary of terms, resource directory, and more.

Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways. Travel Center. Colorado.

Map with byway lines, link to virtual guide, road conditions, etc.

Libraries & Related Topics: Colorado

Colorado Librarian's Survival Guide. ED3.2/SU8/2003/ Docs Ref

Includes acronyms, statistics, a glossary, and a directory.

Prospector: Colorado Regional Catalog.

Colorado residents with library cards have access to circulating items from this collection. See about for participating libraries. The University of Colorado at Boulder (aka CU) is the Regional Depository Library, so items not found at CSU should be available there.