Government (U.S.)

Serves as a gateway for information about the environment.

Useful for doing subject searches on EPA information. Select the A-Z Index for more extensive listing of topics for this region, which includes CO, MT,ND,SD,UT,WY and 27 Tribal Nations.

Useful for doing subject searches on EPA information for specific regions. From the Regional Offices map, select the desired region. Many include an "A-Z Index" listing of topics pertaining to their region.

Information on the different methods for measuring and evaluating pollutants, chemicals, and toxins.

Access to Environmental Impact Studies database and information and resources concerning the NEPA.

Includes full text of major environmental laws among other resources.

The STORET Data Warehouse is a repository for water quality, biological, and physical data. Click on the water drop to retrieve monitoring data. Search for data by locale or monitoring station. The Data Warehouse contains data since Jan. 1, 1999. Earlier data is in their Legacy Data Center.

Provides definitions of technical terms used by EPA. The site also includes glossaries, taxonomies, and thesauri. EPA Science Vocabulary defines in non-technical language the more commonly used EPA environmental terms.

Access several resources for various environmental topics in neighborhoods. Search begins by location (zip code, city, park, etc).

Includes links to numerous EPA resources for environmental conditions information about your neighborhood, city, state, or region.

Information about sustainability as well as how to improve sustainability.

Links to several resources pertaining to water. Some of the broad topics include drinking water, water bodies, wastewater, and water quality.

Find environmental information about your watershed.

Includes engineering standards used by the EPA.

Information on Drinking Water, Water Quality Research, Water Monitoring, Water Tools and more.

"The data architecture of WATERS integrates information from various EPA water programs by linking it to the national surface water network. For EPA, the surface water network is based on the NHDPlus dataset which incorporates the best features of the National Hydrography Dataset (NHD) Exit, the National Elevation Dataset (NED) Exit, and the Watershed Boundary Dataset (WBD)"

Though not a part of EPA, this agency provides information on toxic substances and human health.

Search across EPA for waste, air, toxics, and other topics.

This site allows easy identification and access to detailed information on specific Superfund sites.

A database with information on facilities that produce chemical waste. Generate reports by ZIP code, county, state, or Indian lands.

Useful for identifying past topics of importance, this publication is available in paper from 1975 through 1995, when it was discontinued.

This site gives links to announcements for environmental impact statements, endangered species, pollution, and numerous others. Includes suggested environment searches.

Search, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials free of charge.

Search by keyword or topics is available. Search results can be narrowed down by agency and other criteria. Searches can also be executed by "Agency Documents" with "EPA" as search term to access the EPA documents.