History--U.S. & Art in Government Resources
Government resources provide official documents, papers, perspectives, and summaries of historical events. Art is another type of primary source that governments collect. National libraries are often a good place to find primary materials. This page has links to mostly primary and a few secondary government historical sources.
U.S. History: Primary Sources
Some of these resources will have introductory material (and secondary sources), but the documents themselves are primary sources (photographs, bills, laws, etc.) Material may be hosted on a non-government site. History in this context includes current information. For example, activities of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
America's Story from America's Library. Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.
Meet amazing Americans, jump back in time, explore the states, etc. Aimed at a young audience, but it has a lot of information of use to all ages and types of researchers.
American State Papers, 1789-1838. CSU affiliates only.
Government materials. Shows scanned images of printed materials. View page by page.
Collections with Audio Recordings. Library of Congress.
48 collections as of September 2018.
Collections with Manuscripts/Mixed Material. Library of Congress.
114 collections as of September 2018.
Congressional Publications. CIS. Legislative Histories (1969-present, Congressional materials 1789-present). CSU affiliates only.
Has information on U.S. and state government laws, codes, and statues. Find publications, bills, laws, regulations, members, committees, etc. Links to all kinds of governmental information.
Digital Collections. Library of Congress.
Over 300 collections divided into 66 subjects. Subjects include: American History; Performing Arts; Government, Law & Politics; World Cultures & History; War & Military; Local History & Folklife; Art & Architecture; Portrait Photographs; Photographic Prints; and Geography & Places.
Digital Collections: American History. Library of Congress. (American Memory reshaped a lot.)
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights. Thurgood Marshall Law Library.
Covers 1957 to the present. Search material by title, subject, date of publication and SuDocs number. Items are available online in PDF.
National Museum of American History. Smithsonian.
Virtual exhibitions (flash player required for some exhibits; some exhibits require a browser history to get out of), timelines, more. Most of the site promotes resources at the museum.
Includes copies of various primary and secondary sources along with contextual information (some sources found on linked to pages). For example, there are documents regarding Research in Military Records: Civil War, African American Heritage including Civil Rights, Presidents and First Ladies, Immigration Records (Ship Passenger Arrival Records), and Native American Heritage. Links to Our Documents (separate Web site), a site that has copies of one hundred milestone documents to do with American history.
Serial Set: U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. CSU affiliates only.
Government materials. Shows scanned images of printed materials. View page by page.
Exhibitions and spotlights. Art & Design; History & Culture; Science & Nature.
United States Code. Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
Official law of the United States of America.
U.S. History and History Documents. USA.gov
American History; Declaration of Independence; U.S. Constitution; Military History and Museums; Military Memorials and Monuments; and The U.S. National Anthem.
Includes summaries of floor and committee actions for last 3 legislative days, floor schedule for the week, directory of e-mail addresses, links to member and congressional member organization home pages.
Links to committee and member home pages, a directory of e-mail addresses, Daily Calendar of Business, and general information about the Senate and the legislative process.
U.S. History Secondary Sources
Summary biographical information on Congressional politicians from 1774 to the present. Search by name, position, party, state, and/or year/congress. Bibliography.
History of Departments & Agencies.
Some of these include images and texts of primary sources.
- Bureau of Labor
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
- Defense Information Systems Agency, 1947-1960
- Federal Aviation Administration
- Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
- From Lighthouses to Laserbeams: A History of the U.S. Department of Commerce (1988). U.S. Department of Commerce.
- Homeland Security
- Library of Congress: Today in History
- National Archives
- National Institutes of History
- National Science Foundation
- Naval History and Heritage Command
- Nuclear Regulatory Commission (previously Atomic Energy Commission)
- Peace Corps
- Social Security
- Supreme Court of the United States
- U.S. Census
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
- U.S. Department of Energy
- U.S. Department of the Treasury
- U.S. Department of Veteran's Affairs
- U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) [snapshot of archive]
- U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
- United States House of Representatives. Office of Art & Archives.
- U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration
- U.S. Mint
- United States Senate. Art & History.
- U.S. Trade Administration
U.S. at War: Primary Sources (introductory descriptions are secondary sources)
The entries here are not necessarily comprehensive. There are sources available in archives and online that are not listed below.
War of 1812
A Guide to the War of 1812. Kenneth Drexler. Library of Congress.
"This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the War of 1812 that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the War of 1812 and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers."
Series: The Global Context of the War of 1812. National Park Service.
Five chapters. "Americans remember the War of 1812 as a second war of independence, as a war to force the British to give up practices that violated American rights and undermined US sovereignty. But this was a byproduct of a much larger conflict in Europe. Historian Donald R. Hickey of Wayne State College and author of several books on the War of 1812 explores these global contexts."
Treaty of Ghent (1814). ourdocuments.gov
"This treaty, signed on December 24, 1814, ended the War of 1812, fought between Great Britain and the United States."
United States Coast Guard War of 1812. PDF. William H. Thiesen.
Cementing Coast Guard Core Missions: Revenue Cutter Operations in the War of 1812.
Links to ebooks, military reports, documents, and correspondence.
War of 1812: A New Nation, in Peril. National Park Service.
Stories, people, places.
War of 1812 Campaigns. U.S. Army Center of Military History.
Overview of the campaigns. Canada, Chippewa, Lundy's Lane, Bladensburg, McHenry, New Orleans.
War of 1812 Discharge Certificates. National Archives.
Appendix II: List of Company/Detachment Commanders; Appendix III: List of Soldiers by Name; Appendix IV: List of Soldiers by Unit.
"From 1861 to 1865, the American union was broken as brother fought brother in a Civil War that remains a defining moment in our nation's history. Its causes and consequences, including the continuing struggle for civil rights for all Americans, reverberate to this day. From the battlefields to the homefront, the cost of the war was steep...its lessons eternal."
Civil War, 1861-1865. New York State Library.
Page has "publications that have been digitized from items/volumes in the New York State Library's collection. As the State Library digitizes other Civil War materials, links to the digital copy will be added to this list."
Civil War Collection Items. Library of Congress.
Over 14,400 items online. Photos, prints, drawings.
Civil War Maps. Library of Congress.
Over 2,200 maps are available online illustrating places involved in the American Civil War. Maps come from a number of collections, pulled together into this one online location. Many feature military battles and campaigns.
Civil War Obituary Index. Massachusetts Soldiers, Sailors and Marines in the Civil War. Fitchburg [MA] Public Library.
Nine scanned volumes. 1st-62nd infantry (expect 41st), 1st-2nd sharpshooters, 1st-16th light artillery, 1-4th Heavy artillery, soldiers, navy, marine corps, and index to army records.
Civil War Photos. National Archives.
Scroll down to see: army life, army units, cavalry, civilians, communications and intelligence, councils, engineering, foreign observers, generals in the field, medical, morale, navies, ordnance, photographers and their equipment, prisoners and prisons, quartermaster and commissary, railroads, places (battle areas, Richmond, VA, Washington, D.C., and environs), portraits (abolitionists, artists and authors, confederate army officers, confederate officials, enlisted men, federal army officers, federal navy officers, foreign diplomats, U.S. government officials, women), and Lincoln's assassination. Index to photographers.
Civil War Resources. Missouri Digital Heritage.
According to the site there are "more than 500,000 digitized Civil War records." "Resources include state and federal government records held by the Missouri State Archives."
The Civil War Senate Reacts to Secession. United States Senate.
Senate action against disloyal members, by state. (Withdrew, expelled.) Starts with historical background. See also: The Civil War: The Senate's Story.
Intelligence in the Civil War. Public Affairs. Central Intelligence Agency.
Table of Contents: Introduction; Saving Mr. Lincoln Intelligence Collection --- The South; Intelligence Collection --- The North; The Bureau of Military Information; Black Dispatches; Intelligence’s New Tools; Intelligence Overseas; Conspiracy in Canada; Epilogue; Postscript: Then and Now, the Guard Posts at Langley; Suggested Readings.
Letters, Telegrams, and Photographs Illustrating Factors that Affected the Civil War. Educator Resources. National Archives.
Documents. Also audio recording of interview with confederate veteran.
Soldiers and Sailors Database. The Civil War.
"The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. Other information on the site includes histories of Union and Confederate regiments, links to descriptions of significant battles, and selected lists of prisoner-of-war records and cemetery records, which will be amended over time." Browse by soldiers, sailors, regiments, cemeteries, battles, prisoners, medals of honor, and monuments.
Narrow by county data, engagement, battlefield, African American site, by date.
Spanish-American War, 1898
Spanish American War. Naval History and Heritage Command.
14 reports from the Secretary of the Navy cover 1898.
Spanish-American War 1898. Library of Congress.
Over 550 groups of images. Albums (not all images available online), prints, and individual photographs.
The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures. Library of Congress.
"68 motion pictures, produced between 1898 and 1901, of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution. The Spanish-American War was the first U.S. war in which the motion picture camera played a role. These films were made by the Edison Manufacturing Company and the American Mutoscope & Biograph Company and consist of actualities filmed in the U.S., Cuba, and the Philippines, showing troops, ships, notable figures, and parades, as well as reenactments of battles and other war-time events."
The Spanish-American War: The United States Becomes a World Power. Library of Congress.
Variety of primary sources, including contemporary newspaper articles, prints, and photographs. Images of Theodore Roosevelt.
Strategic Map of Our War with Spain. Library of Congress.
Click on image to enlarge it. Maps showing parts of the United States, Cuba, Spain, Porto Rico, and Philippine Island involved in the war. List of principal American vessels, principal Spanish Vessels, relative resources, and directions.
The World of 1898: The Spanish-American War. Library of Congress.
Resources and documents about the war and the time leading up to it. "Information about Cuba, Guam, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Spain, and the United States is provided in chronologies, bibliographies, and a variety of pictorial and textual material from bilingual sources, supplemented by an overview essay about the war and the period."
Examples of articles about the Spanish-American War include (from A Guide to the Spanish-American War [Library of Congress]):
- "Maine Destroyed in Havana Harbor," The San Francisco Call. February 16, 1898.
- "Spain Will be Told to Evacuate Today," The Salt Lake Herald. April 20, 1898.
- "Surrender of Santiago Finally Accomplished," The Saint Paul Globe. July 17, 1898.
- "Peace Treaty Ratified at Last," The Scranton Tribune, February 7, 1899.
World War I
America on the Homefront. National Archives at Boston. National Archives.
Sections are: Rationing and Controlling Prices (Selected records of the Office of Price Administration, Record Group 188, NARA's Northeast Region, Boston); Defending the Homefront (A Navy Diary); Wartime Research and Development (Selected records from the Office of Historian, MIT Radiation Laboratory (Cambridge, Massachusetts), Records of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, Record Group 227, NARA-Northeast Region (Boston)); and War Work & the Role of Women (Women in Defense Jobs, Women at Work, Filling the Manpower Gap and Finding People to Work). After primrary sources there are links to select secondary sources.
A Guide to World War I Materials. Library of Congress. Kenneth Drexler.
"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including photographs, documents, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings."
Military Resources: World War I. Archives Library Information Center. National Archives (NARA).
NARA resources and other resources (some of these are secondary sources). Links have brief annotations.
Resources for Teaching the 100th Anniversary of the U.S. Joining World War I. Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.
A really good collection of primary sources, many found on government sites. Summary of events; sources linked to as mentioned. Some sources are secondary source retrospectives.
"Where does the story of World War I intersect with the stories of national parks? The answers might surprise you." Parks; preparing for war; society and politics; fighting the war; impacts and legacy; commemorating WWI; teachers.
Manuscripts, published accounts, proclamations/resolutions, newspapers, and other resources. Other tabs provide additional resources of potential interest.
World War I: America's Involvement. Primary Source Sets. Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs.
Posters and songs (audio and sheet music) from World War I.
The World War I Document Archive. Brigham Young University Library.
"International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War." Nine sections, including by year, image archive, and medical front.
World War I: Topics. Library of Congress.
Images of "posters, recordings, newspapers, sheet music, photographs, and veterans’ stories."
World War II
America on the Homefront. National Archives at Boston. National Archives.
Rationing and Controlling Prices (Selected records of the Office of Price Administration, Record Group 188, NARA's Northeast Region, Boston); Defending the Homefront (A Navy War Diary); Wartime Research and Development (Selected records from the Office of Historian, MIT Radiation Laboratory (Cambridge, Massachusetts), Records of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, Record Group 227, NARA-Northeast Region (Boston)); War Work & the Role of Women (Women in Defense Jobs, Women at Work, Filling the Manpower Gap and Finding People to Work); and Secondary Source Materials.
A Guide to World War II Materials. Mark F. Hall. Library of Congress.
Links to resources related to World War II on the Library of Congress Web sites (some duplicated here).
Military Resources: World War II. Archives Library Information Center. National Archives.
Sources from the National Archives. Some links are to entry pages for groups of resources.
A People at War. National Archives & Records Administration.
Overview of theaters of war, interspersed with photographs.
Powers of Persuasion. National Archives.
"Guns, tanks, and bombs were the principal weapons of World War II, but there were other, more subtle forms of warfare as well. Words, posters, and films waged a constant battle for the hearts and minds of the American citizenry just as surely as military weapons engaged the enemy." Posters include information on who produced or published them.
The Second World War [African American history]. History, Art, & Archives. U.S. House of Representatives.
Overview of how WWII impacted opportunities for African Americans. Also, post-war activities.
Baptism By Fire: CIA Analysis of the Korean War Overview. Central Intelligence Agency.
"This collection includes more than 1,300 documents consisting of national estimates, intelligence memo, daily updates, and summaries of foreign media concerning developments on the Korean Peninsula during 1947 - 1954." Entries are in PDF.
Scroll down to see the five documents. Online Documents also has items of interest, including those declassified by year.
Korean War (search results). Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum.
Photographs, documents, and other materials. Limit by type in advanced search. Notes from earlier iteration of the site: Documents from May 8, 1945 to July 27, 1953. "This collection focuses on the Korean War. The collection includes 275 documents totaling 1151 pages covering the years 1945 through 1953. Supporting materials include official documents and photographs."
The Korean War, Not Forgotten: Experiencing War: Stories from the Veterans History Project.
"Korea is too often referred to as the forgotten war. The 5.7 million American men and women who served in that war each have their own memories, whether they were on the battle lines, in the air, or in support of those whose lives were at risk. The war lasted just over three years, but nearly 60 years after the guns fell silent, Americans in uniform still maintain the peace along the 38th Parallel, the border between North and South." This site searches was from World War I onwards.
Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection at the Library of Congress. Library of Congress
Blog post with a few example leaflets.
Military Resources: Korean War. National Archives.
Mix of primary and secondary sources. Also contemporary commentary. Annotated list.
Air Base Defense in the Republic of Vietnam 1961-1973. Roger P. Fox. Office of Air Force History. 1979.
Secondary source with primary sources intermixed, for example, photographs and excepts from letters and other souces.
A Chronology of the U.S. Navy in Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1950–75. Naval History and Heritage Command.
August 3, 1950-May 12, 1975. Photographs, watercolor.
Declassified Records Related to the Vietnam Paris Peace Talks 1972 - 1973. National Security Agency | Central Security Service.
These were "originally issued between November 1972 and January 1973, are intelligence reports provided by the National Security Agency to the White House in support of American efforts to reach a settlement ending the Vietnam War. These reports, which were published as soon as possible after NSA obtained their contents and sometimes issued several times in a single day, sought to inform American diplomacy at a crucial time in our nation's past."
Experiencing War. Veteran's History Project. Library of Congress.
Interviews audio and video. Some excerpted. Scroll down to see link to view all stories.
Pointing Their Pens: Herblock and Fellow Cartoonists Confront the Issues: Vietnam. Library of Congress.
Ten cartoons with commentary (an eleventh is not visible, but described).
Selected Documents on the Vietnam War. Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.
1953-1976. There are "links to digitized documents and photographs." Congressman Ford, President Ford, and others.
Tet Offensive: Declassified Documents. INTEL.gov Office of the Director of National Intelligence.
Over 360 PDF documents.
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations. Southeast Asia Resolution Hearings before the United States Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, and Senate Committee on Armed Services, Eighty-Eighth Congress, Second Session and Eighty-Ninth Congress, Second Session, on Aug. 6, 1964. Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 1966. (CSU affiliates only.)
"Considers S.J. Res. 59, to authorize the President to undertake defensive military action in Southeast Asia following North Vietnamese attack on two U.S. naval vessels in the Tonkin Gulf. Classified material has been deleted."
Vietnam Center and Archive. Texas Tech University.
Before searching researchers are notified: "The Vietnam Center and Archive strives to collect and provide free and open access to a full history of the Vietnam War. In order to achieve this goal, we collect materials that represent all aspects, all viewpoints, and all sides of the war. Some of those materials contain foul language, derogatory terms, and objectionable material and images, which some people might find offensive. While we are committed to providing patrons with access to all materials in our collections, the views contained within those documents are those of the authors and do not reflect those of the Vietnam Center and Archive or Texas Tech University. We provide access to these historical records as an unvarnished representation of wartime events and we do not edit or sanitize historical materials to align with any viewpoint. We believe strongly in promoting candid discussion and scholarship of all aspects of the Vietnam War, even if it means including materials that we personally find objectionable." You may also browse the collection.
The Vietnam Collection. Central Intelligence Agency.
"This collection of declassified estimative products is the first such release by the Central Intelligence Agency of documents exclusively on the Vietnam war." Items in PDF.
Vietnam War. National Archives.
"The National Archives has a wealth of records and information documenting the U.S. experience in the Vietnam conflict. These include photographs, textual and electronic records, audiovisual recordings, exhibits, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events." See subtopics such as: Vietnam War U.S. Military Fatal Casualty Statistics; Electronic Records Relating to the Vietnam War;
The Wars for Viet Nam: The Documents. Vassar.
Documents July 21, 1954-January 27, 1973. Some of them are excerpts.
The War in Vietnam: A Story in Photographs. National Archives.
Twelve images. "The war in Vietnam has been described as the first "living room war"—meaning combat was seen on TV screens and newspapers on a daily basis. Newspaper and television crews documented this war much more intensely than they did earlier conflicts. This willingness to allow documentation of the war extended to the military's own photographers—who captured thousands of images that covered every aspect of the conflict between 1962 and 1975."
America's Wars. Office of Public Affairs. PDF. U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
As information is available: Total U.S. Servicemembers; Battle Deaths; Other Deaths (In Theater); Non-mortal Woundings; Total Servicemembers; Other Deaths (In Theater); Total U.S. Servicemembers (Worldwide); Other Deaths in Service (Non-Theater); Deployed to [region]; Living Veterans.
Milestones in the History of U.S. Foreign Relations. Office of the Historian. Department of State.
"'Milestones in the History of U.S. Foreign Relations' provides a general overview of the history of U.S. engagement with the world through short essays on important moments, or milestones, in the diplomatic history of the United States. The basic objective of these essays is to provide a clear, accurate, narrative account of the events being discussed, with a brief discussion of each event’s significance for U.S. foreign policy and diplomatic history. The publication is divided into 19 chapters covering time periods from 1750 until 2000, with brief introductions providing context for each period." Includes wars.
Official Declarations of War by Congress. U.S. Senate.
"The Constitution grants Congress the sole power to declare war. Congress has declared war on 11 occasions, including its first declaration of war with Great Britain in 1812. Congress approved its last formal declaration of war during World War II."
Soldiers' Records: War of 1812 - World War I. Missouri Digital Heritage.
The Soldiers Database is a comprehensive database abstracted from the individual service cards and listing more than 576,000 Missourians who served in the military from territorial times through World War I. It includes entries for twelve wars and military engagements in which Missouri soldiers took part. These range from well-known wars, such as the War of 1812, the Mexican War, the Spanish-American War, and World War I, to the battles that were peculiarly Missourian, including the Heatherly War of 1836, the Mormon War of 1838, and the Iowa (Honey) War of 1839. The bulk of the service cards, over 380,000 of them, record the fractured history of Missouri during the bloodiest of all American wars - the Civil War.
Veteran’s History Project. Library of Congress.
Oral histories of veterans. Some material (transcripts, videos) is available online. Check Digitized Collection box in order to find these. If you know specifics, you can search them: name of veteran/civilian, service location, service unit/ship, highest rank, etc. Search by conflict or era (World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, Persian Gulf War, Afghanistan and Iraq Wars, and/or Other); limit by branch of service (Air Force, Army, Army Air Forces/Corps, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, Merchant Marine, Navy, Civilian, Other Branches); indicate whether or not prisoner of war, gender, digitized collection, and/or transcript.
War of 1812 Records (and others). Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission.
Information varies, focus on Pennsylvania tie, but may include: index of soldiers, militia accounts, histories, collections, military personnel records, muster rolls, service index, papers, volunteers, records, burial cards, veteran's compensation.
U.S. at War--Secondary Sources
These materials look back and summarize events.
New Tactics in the Vietnam Era: Far from Vietnam (1967). National Gallery of Art.
Films about Vietnam with commentary. Photographs of stills and other items included.
Reader's Guide. Links to items that discuss general war history. Not all items online yet.
Art: Images from National Art Galleries & Other
Art + Artists. Smithsonian American Art Museum. Renwick Gallery.
Search the collection by artwork or artist, category. Browse by artists A-Z, by state, by birthday.
Browse artworks in these sections:
South Asian & Himalayan Art
Southeast Asian Art
Institution. Featured records. Exhibitions & publications. How the House has changed over time. People. Oral history. Records & research.
National Gallery of Art. Washington D.C.
Exhibitions, events, and images.
The Portraits. Search the Collection. National Portrait Gallery.
Search Objects. National Museum of African Art.
In advanced search search by classification (Architectural elements; Books & Manuscripts; Containers [gourds, baskets, pots, wooden cups and bowls]; Costume Accessories; Costumes and Textiles; Exchange Media [e.g. salt, shells, beads, metal ingots, local and European coins, jewelry, woven cloth, weapons and tools]; Furniture and Furnishings; Mask; Musical Instrument; Painting Two-dimensional; Sculpture; Tools and equipment; Toys and entertainment; and Weapons and Armament); countries; object name contains; People (Maker/Artist) Name is; Medium contains; Select an attribute, and others.
Institution (origins and development; powers and procedures; chronology, party division); prints, drawings & photographs; paintings, oral history project; people; furniture & decorative art; sculpture; stats in the Senate; Senate stories; ephemera & historical objects; special features; and Senate chamber desks.
Art/Architecture, Location, Description. Use the drop down menu to choose another State. Not comprehensive.
By floor. Quilts, paintings, sculptures, plaques, stained glass, artifacts, and more.
United Kingdom (Britain) & European Government Resources
British History Online. Copyright 2003-2007 University of London & History of Parliament Trust.
Arranged by: places, subjects, periods (11th-19th centuries), sources (Primary sources, Secondary texts, Guides and calendars [Printed guides and calendars of manuscript collections, such as the Calendars of State Papers], Gazetteers and dictionaries, and Maps), maps, and calendars of state papers (appears to be for subscribers only). Browse by period for Papers of British Parliament from 1509 to 1739. Sources:
- Commons, Debates of (Grey) (10) Debates (1667-94), collected by the Hon. Anchitell Grey, MP (10 vols).
- Commons, History and Proceedings ( Chandler) (10) Extensive verbatim accounts of Commons debates, 1660-1739, in 10 volumes.
- Commons Journal (13) The official record of the House. Includes volumes 1-12 (1547-1699) & 85 (1830).
- London, Old and New (Thornbury & Walford) (6) Surveys London and Westminster and their environs (6 volumes, 1878).
Primary documents from European countries: Albania, Andorra,Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and Vatican City. History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents includes England and Scotland. Chronological.
European History Primary Sources. European University Institute, Florence, Italy.
Browse digital libraries by country, language, period, subject, and type of source. There are also search options. "The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe." Note: some of these may not all be government publications.
The National Archives. United Kingdom.
From "about us": "The National Archives is also the official archive for England, Wales and the central UK government, containing 900 years of history from Domesday Book to the present, with records ranging from parchment and paper scrolls through to recently created digital files and archived websites. Increasingly, these records are being put online, making them universally accessible." A resource with many items of interest to the historian. For example, Prerogative Court of Canterbury wills (1384 - 1858). As of January 2015 over 5% of the records have been digitised.
Recherche avancée. Gallica. Bibliothèque nationale de France. BnF. French interface.
Advanced search--search more than one field such as author, title, table of contents, and/or subject. Limit by type of document, theme, language, and other options.
Ask Me about
- Finding articles, books, and more
- Library Instruction
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019