Government Information

This guide has links to Federal, State, and Local governmental resources.

FDLP Basic Collection Introduction

These resources are a great place for researchers to find basic information about the US Government. Some of the resources can be a bit complex, but are worthwhile enough to be used.

FDLP eagle image

From the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP): "These titles are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government. This list is subject to change." Titles listed here are the December 2019 titles.

Federal Resources

Assistance Listings. Beta site is official. GS 1.52/2:

"SAM provides detailed, public descriptions of federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals."

Ben's Guide to U.S Government. GP 3.39:

"Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program." Includes games that test knowledge of the US government.

Budget of the United States Government. PREX 2.8:

"The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year." Online budgets begin with Fiscal Year 1996.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.GP 3.8/8-9:

"The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or use Advanced Search for more options." There are over 200 free ebooks available for reading online or download. For example, Baseball: The National Pastime in the National Archives.

Code of Federal Regulations. AE 2.106/3: (1996- online).

"annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government." Divided into 50 Titles.

Compilation of Presidential Documents. AE 2.109:  (1992- ).

"The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.."

Congress.gov.  Library of Congress.

"Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information." Most viewed bills; current legislative activities; upcoming House and Senate committee meetings; current members of Congress, leadership; and find contact information. Footer has links to older information and laws. Videos explain the legislative process.

Congressional Record (daily). X 1.1/A:   (1994- ).

"The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress."

Constitution of the United States of America Analysis and Interpretation. (PDF). Y 1.1/3: 

"Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases."

Economic Indicators.Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/   (1995- ).

"Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more."

Economic Report of the President. PR 44.9: (1995- ).

"An annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices."

Explore Census Data. U.S. Census Bureau.

Data about people and economy. Divided by subjects: population; economic; education; business; emergency preparedness; employment; families & living arrangements; health; housing; income & poverty; international trade; public sector. Also data profiles, maps and visualizations, and  industry and NAICS codes.

Federal Register (daily). AE 2.106:   (1936- ).

"The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders."

Govinfo. GP 3.43:

"An online database that gives free access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Government."

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH). L 2.3/4:   Bureau of Labor Statistics. United States Department of Labor.

"resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers." Highly recommended for anyone interested in in exploring career choices.

Official Congressional Directory.

Biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. AE 2.114:  (Herbert Hoover [1929]- ).

"The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks."

Social Security Handbook. SSA 1.8/3:  Social Security Administration.

"The resource for all Social Security questions." Links to table of contents. Preface, 27 chapters, and index.

United States Code. Y 1.2/5:  (1994- ).

"The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles."

United States Government Manual. AE 2.108/2:  (1995/96- ).

"official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government."

United States Reports. JU 6.8:  1931-2000 Documents and Storage Access. Bound Volumes 502- (1991- ) online.  Supreme Court of the United States. The Library of Congress had the US Reports of Volumes 1-542 (1754-2004) case by case in PDF.

"Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions." Large files. Note: "Only the printed bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."

United States Statutes at Large. AE 2.111:  .

"The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress."

USA.gov.

Search "all" government. Browse: all topics and services (multiple topics); about the U.S.; benefits, grants, loans; government agencies and elected officials; jobs and unemployment; money and credit; and travel and immigration.

Your Librarian

Christine Pawliuk's picture
Christine Pawliuk

Chat hours: Wednesdays 1:00-3:00 P.M.

Ask Me about

  • Finding articles, books, and more
  • Citations/references
  • Library Instruction
Contact:
155 Morgan Library
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/govinfo | Print Page