Government (U.S.)

An excellent starting point. "Find a Park" provides useful information about each park. "Explore Nature" is especially helpful for four biology resources pertaining to ecosystem management, invasive species, endangered species, and wildlife management. "Discover History" sites are described below.

Not a government site, but useful for recent issues.

A listing of park units with basic individual information and acreage. Only latest print available or access NPIonline via PRIMO (2009-2011 and 21012-2016 online as of May 2017).

Online maps from park brochures.

This is a useful overview and entry point for archaeology conducted in the national parks.

Provides links to the Tribal Preservation Programs and other resources pertaining to Native American cultures and the preservation of tribes.

This serves as a good starting place to find resources on historical topics and locations covered by the National Park Service.

Resources here include the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS), and the Cultural Resources Geographic Information Systems (CRGIS).

This site provides a good starting point for resources on a variety of National Park historical topics and databases.

Their interactive map allows users to quickly locate information on National Heritage Areas by state.

Information on existing national historical landmarks and how a site can become a national historical landmark.

Website for the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA). Provides links to a variety of resources including maps, publications, and databases.

Links to a variety of resources, sorted by culture, including the National Register of Historic Places Focus Database.

Click on "site map" for an array of resources.

Provides a large array of online books not just on administrative history but also general history pertaining to each park.

Explore the National Park Service's itinerary as they provide information to help people everywhere learn about the amazing diversity of this country's historic places that are listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Provides descriptions of each featured unit, stories, photographs, maps, and more.

Each itinerary is a self-guided tour to historic places most of which are listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Spotlighting different communities, geographic regions and themes across the country, the travel itineraries expose you to a huge variety of places significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture.

Resource for information on national parks in Southeastern United States.

Includes resources for both professionals and lay people regarding preservation and restoration of historic buildings.

Archaeology and ethnography specific to the American Southwest.

Full text articles on NPS archaeology and ethnography for the layperson. Print issues available from 1996 to present. Online archive available from 2003 to present.