Government (U.S.)

Resources:
Beige Book: full text from 1970 to the present, national and regional.
Economic Research and Data: statistical data.
Federal Reserve Bulletin: full text, 1997 to the present.

A collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

Resources:
US Economy at a Glance: graphic summaries of major indicators.
US Economic Accounts: includes national, international, regional, and industry accounts.
Survey of Current Business: full text, 1994 to the present.

Provides extensive statistics on the health of the U.S. economy, particularly in terms of employment.

Resources:
Economic Census: includes reports for industries.
Economic Indicators: about 13 indicators, mostly housing and retail.
Quick Facts: demographics for individual states.

Resources (removed early 2017; may return):
Economic Indicators: available various years to the present.
Economic Report of the President: 1995- .

Treasury is the department that handles the finances of the U.S. Government. Information on topics such as interest rates and financial regulation can be found here

Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress. Some of the content includes trends, annual numerical goals, Federal budget outlays, and employment objectives.

View monthly economic indicators from April 1995 to present.

Prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers. Monthly. By categories.

Monthly wholesale trade; manufacturers' shipments, inventories, and orders; U.S. international trade in goods and services; construction spending; homeownership rate; rental vacancy rate; advance monthly wholesale inventories; advance monthly retail inventories; advance report on durable goods manufacturers' shipments, inventories, and orders; advance U.S. international trade in goods, new residential sales; business formation statistics; new residential construction; manufacturing and trade inventories and sales; advance monthly sales for retail and food services; quarterly services survey; quarterly financial report-retail trade; and quarterly financial report-manufacturing, mining, wholesale trade, and selected service industries.

Links to each of the 12 regional Reserve Banks. Chicago and Minneapolis are especially good for collections of statistics. Each Bank normally provides data on its own region; Colorado is within the 10th District (Kansas City).

Links to federal agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides information, tools and news related to official federal statistics. Allows for approach by agency, subject, or state.

Contains the information gathered to create The Financial Crisis Inquiry Report (2011) and access to the report. This site is the live, searchable FCIC website hosted by Stanford University. The frozen FCIC website is managed by National Archives and Records Administration.

Provides historical statistics, sometimes back to the 19th-century. Economic Indicators available from 1948 to the present.

Provides statistics on other major economies, with archiving from 1998 to the present.

Some of the older publications called Liber8. Another gateway for economic information. These accessible essays cover the basics of economic topics. Special “Focus on Finance” essays cover personal finance.

Gross domestic product; personal income; international trade in goods & services (trade balance); and U.S. international transactions (current account balance). Explore data by topic and more.

Links to a number of federal government resources that also appear in the Stat-USA database.

Especially useful for "Major Foreign Holders of Treasury Securities" and other international measures bearing on the US.

Find grant and award data and spending at state and congressional district levels.

Also known as Current Economic Conditions, this publication provides a narrative summary by quarter both nationally and by Federal Reserve district. Full text from 1970 to the present.

All urban consumers; urban wage earners and clerical workers; all urban consumers; and average price data.

Book length report published annually, combining narrative and statistics; the latter emphasizes income, employment, and production. Print copies available from 1947 to the present. Found online from 1995 to the present through the library catalog.

This monthly publication provides current data on employment, unemployment, work hours, and earnings for the U.S., individual states, and select metropolitan areas. In addition, individual tables of household data and tables of establishment data from Employment and Earnings are available online.

Archive collection of the 1960-2007 issues of the monthly publication that details the employment situation in the United States with information on the total labor force, employment, unemployment, hours, and compensation at national and area (state, MSA) levels. Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics since 1954. (Continues Employment and Payrolls)

Detailed statistics published monthly. CSU library has print volumes available from 1973 to the 2007, when print was discontinued. Current statistics can be found at the Bureau Of Labor Statistics site. Online archives can be found at the FRASER site.

Detailed financial and business statistics, domestic and international. Available online from 1996 to the present; connect through PRIMO. CSU library also has print volumes for 1915-2003 at the listed call number.

Provides statistics and some narrative. Available online from 1981 to the present. CSU library has print for 1918 to 2007, when print ceased, at the listed call number.

This book length annual volume provided both statistics and citations to more detailed federal sources. The U.S. Census Bureau terminated publishing this publication in October 2011. CSU library has 1879 to 2012 in print, at the listed call number. Volumes for 1878 to 2012 are available online.

Provides detailed statistics on business and economic activity. Available online through one of CSU Libraries' subscription services or from 1921 to 2002 through FRASER.

Detailed statistics on the public debt and banking activities. Online from 1996 to the present. CSU library has 1954-2000 available in print or microfiche at the listed call number.

Online access from 2000-2017 through Bureau of Labor Statistics site. Print available from 1974 to 2007, when it went online only.