Government Information

This guide has links to Federal, State, and Local governmental resources.

Introduction

Government information is not limited to the United States of America. Most countries, with the probable exception of those in complete political disarray, have documents. Digital availability varies widely, but when available, these resources may be valuable to the researcher interested in specific countries.

Search online and narrow to individual countries' "official" pages using the Internet country code found in the CIA's The World Factbook found under Communications. For example, Canada is .ca; Mexico is .mx; Brazil is .br; Chile is .cl; South Africa is .za; Tanzania is .tz; China is .cn; Thailand is .th; Russia is .ru (with legacy .su fading out); Uzbekistan is .uz; Austria is at; and European Union is .eu (see individual countries for individual codes). Over 260 world entities are listed.

The Library of Congress has links to selected government information from around the world under Nations.

A good collection of online resources can be found here:

International Documents Collection. Northwestern University Library.

The initial page provides an introduction. The specific guides are to: International Resources by Region (Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America); International Resources by Theme (Agriculture, Children, Communication, Crime and Drugs, Development, Economics, Education, Employment and Labor, Energy, Financial, Gender, Government, Health, Migration and Refugees, Population, Public Opinion, Science and Technology, Trade, Travel); List of Foreign Governments (A-D, E-H, I-N, O-T, U-V); and List of Intergovernmental Organizations (A-D, E-H, I-N, O-T, U-V, United Nations, European Union).

PARLINE Database on National Parliaments. Inter-Parliamentary Union.

As of August 2019 over 190 countries with a national legislature. Search by country and chamber, module, region or sub-region, or free text (keyword).

Americas

Government of Canada Publications (English) Publications du gouvernement du Canada (French).

Selected current weekly acquisitions highlighted; top ten downloaded publications in English and French. Search the online catalogue. The E-collection has over 370,000 freely available items as of August 2019.

European Union and United Kingdom

Delegation of the European Union to the United States.

The nearest library to CSUL with European documents is Norlin Library at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Official Website of the European Union (EU).

Information about the EU, EU by topic, Living, working, traveling in the EU, Doing business, EU law, Documents and publications. Sections on economic and financial affairs.

Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. London's Central Criminal Court 1674-1913.

"A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court." Search by keyword(s), surname, given name, alias, offence, verdict, punishment, time period, and reference number. Another options allows for the ability to generate tables or charts.

Publications. GOV.UK

Search by keywords, publication type, policy area, department, official document status, world locations and published after or before a specific date (keep in mind that British dates are day/month/year, not month/day/year as is standard in the U.S.).

Datasets International

Data Collections. Europeana labs.

"Our database contains over 40 million records. These featured datasets represent over a million of the best, openly licensed, directly accessible media objects - books, photos, art, artefacts, audio clips and more. Explore and retrieve some of our very best content here." Public domain artworks, historic engravings, photographs, maps, drawing, fashion drawings, patterns, circus posters/postcards,  illuminated manuscripts (4th century onwards), documents ("artefacts"), images of butterflies, moths, plants, and mushrooms, and much more.

Datasets: European Environment Agency. European Union.

Under topics find "what is happening?: Environmental issues" and "Why is it happening? Sectors and activities"; also find for regions and areas (e.g. coasts and seas) and across issues and sectors (e.g. policy instruments). Data and maps & indicators. "Downloadable data about Europe's environment." Search for topics related to air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, land use, noise, soil, water, and more. Reasons for impacts divided by agriculture, energy, fisheries, household consumption, industry, green economy, tourism, and transport. Site uses cookies.

European Data Portal.

Uses cookies.Search feature. Browse by Agriculture, Fisheries, Forestry & Foods; Energy; regions & Cities; Transport; Economy & Finance; International Issues; Government & Public Sector; Justice, Legal System & Public Safety; Environment; Education, Culture & Sport; Health; Population & Society; and Science & Technology.

Your Librarian

Christine Pawliuk's picture
Christine Pawliuk

Chat hours: Wednesdays 1:00-3:00 P.M.

Ask Me about

  • Finding articles, books, and more
  • Citations/references
  • Library Instruction
Contact:
155 Morgan Library
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/govinfo | Print Page