CSU Archives and Special Collections

CSU Buildings and Grounds History

A history of CSU's building and grounds from 1870 to the present.

Home Management House, 1953-

From CSU's Sense of Place:  A Campus History of Colorado's Land-Grant University, by James E. Hansen, Gordon A. Hazard, and Linda M. Meyer.  Fort Collins, CO:  Colorado State University, 2018.

Since the mid-1930s this has been a “residential prac­tice house” for the home economics program. Built just north of campus in the 1920s, it was leased for several years prior to being put into use by the Col­lege. The State Board of Agriculture purchased the property for Colorado A&M in 1953.

In recent years, the Warner College of Natural Resources took over the use of the building for their Human Dimensions of Natural Resources and Mas­ter of Tourism Management offices. An addition to the rear of the original house around 2010 doubled the space.

Sources by Gordon A. Hazard

State Board of Agriculture Executive Committee Minutes, May 19, 1922, page 194, vol. Jan. 1917 – Aug. 1930.

Fort Collins City Directory 1922.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 19, 1922, page 1, col. 2, vol. XXXII, number 2.

Fort Collins City Directory 1925, 322 West Laurel listed as Gamma Phi Beta.

State Board of Agriculture Executive Committee Minutes, August 25, 1928, page 486.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 21, 1928, page 4, col. 8, vol. XXXVIII, number 2.

State Board of Agriculture Executive Committee Minutes, September 21, 1928, page 492.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, October 17, 1928, page 4, vol. XXXVIII, number 6.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, January 30, 1929, page 6, vol. XXXVIII, number 18.

State Board of Agriculture Executive Committee Minutes, May 17, 1929, page 522.

State Board of Agriculture Executive Committee Minutes, August 29, 1931, page 55.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, September 16, 1935, page 214.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, May 22, 1936, page 307.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 23, 1936, page 5, col. 6, vol. XLVI, number 3.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, June 30, 1937, page 419.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 16, 1937, page 1, vol. 47, number 2.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, June 10, 1938, page 492.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 29, 1938, page 1, col. 6, vol. XLVIII, number 4.

C.S.C. Faculty-Student Directory and Aggie Calendar, 1938-1939, page 2.

C.S.C. Faculty-Student Directory and Aggie Calendar, 1939-1940, page 2.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, October 8, 1942, page 2, col. 3, vol. LII, number 5.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, October 22, 1942, page 2, col. 4 and 6, vol. LII, number 7.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, December 3, 1942, page 1, col. 3, vol. LII, number 13.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, July 27, 1945, page 20.

1945-46 Directory of Students, Faculty and Employees, page 4.

“1950 Silver Spruce”, pages 101, 104, vol. 45.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, January 25, 1952, pages 2, 7, vol. LXI, number 15.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, June 19, 1953, page 217.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, August 8, 1953, page 233.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, September 26, 1953, page 257.

The Colorado Aggie Alumnus, January – February 1954, pages 6-7, vol. 30, number 4.

Colorado State University Rocky Mountain Collegian, February 7, 1962, page 3, vol. LXX, number 61.

“A History of Colorado State University 1870 – 1974”, by James E. Hansen II, 1974.

“Democracy’s College in the Centennial State – A History of Colorado State University” by James E. Hansen II, 1977, p. 230.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Vicky Lopez-Terrill
she/her/hers
Contact:
Vicky Lopez-Terrill
Colorado State University Libraries
Archives and Special Collections
Room 202
970-491-1466
Social: Twitter Page

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/campus_building_histories | Print Page