CSU Archives and Special Collections

CSU Buildings and Grounds History

A history of CSU's building and grounds from 1870 to the present.

Book Storage Facility, 1985-

From CSU's Sense of Place:  A Campus History of Colorado's Land-Grant University, by James E. Hansen, Gordon A. Hazard, and Linda M. Meyer.  Fort Collins, CO:  Colorado State University, 2018.

Architects - CSU Facilities Management (original), Per M. Hogestad (2010 addition)

Builder – Heath Construction Company, LLC of Fort Collins

203 and 205 West Lake Street

Over the years various locations on and off the campus have been used to store less-frequently used books and materials that would not fit in the main Library building.  In September 1983, the State Board of Agriculture authorized $312,000 to build this on-campus Book Storage Facility on West Lake Street just west of the Surplus Property Building. It was an unassuming corrugated metal building.

In May 1984, the construction budget was raised to $340,000 to meet the rising costs of labor and materials.  Architects at the Department of Facilities Management designed the 28,000 square foot building that utilized two levels of shelving to store thousands of books.  In 1995, the building was equipped with improved climate-control and shelving upgrades as part of the overall Morgan Library expansion project. 

In 2003, the need for more room to store and preserve the University’s archival collections resulted in a 3,923 square foot wing addition on the south side of the original building.  In February 2004, the Archives and Special Collections of the CSU Libraries began using the “Archive Annex”.  The secure, windowless building featured climate-controls designed to help preserve the rapidly growing collections of delicate materials stored there.

The campus continued to grow and the use of the limited space in the Morgan Library was reconsidered.  It was decided that a new wing would be added to the south side of the original Book Storage Facility.  Construction began in the fall of 2010. Designed by architect Per M. Hogestad of the Department of Facilities Management, this 4,367 square foot addition featured movable shelves to maximize storage space.  The new wing was completed in early 2011 to house thousands of seldom used books that needed to be moved out of the Morgan Library to allow that space to be remodeled and thus better used by students.  A large number of computer stations were planned to use space once occupied by books. 

In 2014, movable shelves were installed to maximize the storage space in the “Archive Annex” portion of the building.

Sources by Gordon A. Hazard

1962 City Directory, page 509 shows 201, 203, 205, 207, 209, and 211.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, October 2, 1974, page 1, vol. LXXXIII, number 22.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, January 24, 1975, page 7.

Fort Collins Journal, November 9, 1976, page 3, vol. LXXXV.

Fort Collins Journal, April 27, 1977, page 2, vol. LXXXV.

Fort Collins Journal, June 23, 1977, page 1, vol. LXXXVI, number 4.

Fort Collins Journal, December 5, 1977, page 8, vol. LXXXVI, number 81.

Fort Collins Journal, February 28, 1979, page 3, vol. LXXXVII, number 114.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 1, 1982, page 42, vol. XCI, number 20.

Colorado State University Comment, October 6, 1983, page 1, vol. 14, number 8.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, October 26, 1983, page 1, vol. XCII, number 61.

State Board of Agriculture Minutes, May 8-9, 1984, page 5-6.

“1986-87 Colorado State University Directory”, Campus map.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, March 25, 1987, page 7, vol. 95, number 128.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, April 19, 1989, page 1, vol. 97, number 152.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 7, 1990, pages 3 and 5, vol. 99, number 19.

Comment, October 31, 1991, pages 1-2, vol. 22, number 10.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, June 26, 1992, page 2, vol. 100, issue 153.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 1, 1992, page 2, vol. 101, issue 15.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, September 4, 1992, pages 2-3, vol. 101, issue 18.

Rocky Mountain Collegian, March 25, 1994, page 1, vol. 102, number 131.

Colorado State University Alumni, Fall 1994, page 32.

E-mail from Kristi Buffington of Facilities Management dated July 12, 2016.

Information from Julia Innis of Facilites Management in September 2016.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Vicky Lopez-Terrill
she/her/hers
Contact:
Vicky Lopez-Terrill
Colorado State University Libraries
Archives and Special Collections
Room 202
970-491-1466
Social: Twitter Page

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/campus_building_histories | Print Page